John McCain: What A Stunning Accomplishment

What A Stunning Accomplishment

In a very warm concession speech tonight, Mike Huckabee finally made me a kingmaker.

OK, he didn't, but he proved me right about "No one named Huckabee is going to be President," and he vindicated me as one of McCain's earliest lukewarm supporters.

But suddenly, the focus is on John McCain, and his is an utterly amazing achievement. It was all over for him more times than I can remember, and yet he kept on (just as Hillary is doing, I might add), and here he is now, the Republican nominee.

This is the very sort of thing that only happens in America

Congratulations,Senator, I wish I liked you more. But I respect you a lot. If ever someone deserved the nomination, you're that man.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to John McCain: What A Stunning Accomplishment

  1. Well I don't want Obama or HRC making Federal Judical Appointments so I'm going to have to support John McCain. Sorry Ann.

  2. Eudora says:

    Can't stand McCain's position on illegals, but the Dems' are just as bad. So…..Go McCain in 2008!

  3. TedWest says:

    Eu,
    "Can't stand" is far too mild for me, but let's not take the focus of the rat in the White House who promised a virtual fence would be operative before he left office, and we are now told that it doesn't work and won't be operative until the third year of the next President – which means never.
    I don't believe for a second that Bush ever intended to secure the border, and at worst, McCain will continue what Bush is responsible for

  4. Some one has to get the work done in America- it sure as hell isn't AFSCME.

  5. TedWest says:

    I'm not sure, was that an excuse for Bush not upholding his oath or an explanation as to why the fence didn't get done?

  6. The fence isn't going to make us any more competitive. Unless it would rivel the Great Wall of China I doubt that it would be very effecive. It is a giant waste of money- the desert is much more of a teterant then a on again off again fence. Now the real problem is that we have too many poor people in America. We should just deport all the poor people that can't pay their own way- personally I'm sick of supporting people who live off the government- and that includes Congress critters like Nancy Pilosi and Gabrielle Giffords.

  7. TedWest says:

    You know, that first sentence made me wonder. Then I read all that absurd stuff that followed, and I finally realized you weren't serious. I thought, no, Zak wouldn't be of letting President Scumbag off the hook, ignoring the rule of law, and wanting our own people to suffer supressed wages and less opportunity because foreigners were willing to work cheap. And if you did think that, I'm sure you wouldn't tell me, so good one!

  8. Businesses don't exist to pay taxes or create employment and pay outrageously high wages. They exist to hopefully turn a profit and that is due to the market niche having a competitive advantage for the owners of the business. Employment, competitive wages and taxes are just part of the process but less important then why the owner went into business in the first place.
    Seriously the only way to end excess immigration from Mexico is to see its economy improve, grow and create employment for its citizens.

    Illegal immigration may be a problem but I actually think that the fence is a waste of money. I'd rather see the money go to roads and bridges.

  9. TedWest says:

    Zak, In the words of maxwell Smart, "I asked you not to tell me that!"
    Because in the words of my friend, Chad, when someone replies, you feel compelled to respond lest he and others think he's made a point.
    So the first problem is, I wasn't talking about business, I was talking economics. Illegal workers absolutely affect wages, and specifically, they affect lower wage earners who are actually citizens. Blacks have started to realize this and Hispanics will to as soon as they realize that the new arrivals are displacing those already here.
    Illegals are killing us, literally and figuratively.
    Next, I don't want to have to be concerned with what one "actually think," unless he can demonstrate it. By this, I presume you were referring to a physical barrier? And I was referring to the promised -virtual fence!
    I would completely agree that such a fence will not work as desired. That's why I advocate shooting on sight as the best solution – quicker and more humane. But politicians being wimps…
    With respect to a real fence, where it's been built, it works. and while a border fence might not be 100% effective… it might only be 90% effective, but it will be effective, and even if it isn't, Did you know that China's Great Wall is now one of their biggest tourist attractions? You can see it from space, I heard!?!
    Finally, I don't want to hear about what WE have to do for Mexico, and I notice that you don't advocate anything. Instead, you're far more vague – we need to "see its economy improve, grow and create employment for its citizens."
    Well, I'm watching. I've been watching for a long time, and frankly, Mexico is better off with things as they are, since exporting their poor enhances their own economy more than "growing their employment."
    Besides, how would you "see" that happen? Through our big government involvement? Because Americans are buying in Mexico now, and NAFTA is already a big gesture, and yet illegal immigration has only grown worse.
    Now I don't want to make this too pointed, but I don't like rightist idealism any more than I do leftist. If you have serious ideas, by all means, present them, but please don't tell me what you think won't work, and follow it with pie-in-the-sky HOPE.
    I want to know that you understand illegals are:
    illegal
    taking jobs
    suppressing wages
    costly
    a security threat
    disease carriers
    sapping resources
    encouraging businesses to break the law
    And I haven't seen you condemn Bush, so you might start there.

  10. I don't need to condemn Bush any more then LBJ. I reject the entire idea that government intervention in my personal life is necessary and that we need another "war on poverty" or whatever. My comments above were solutions based- anyone who wants to solve this problem must solve the root cause: economic freedom and individual initiative & prosperity.

  11. BTW- I sponsored my Son-in-law so he could come here and marry my daughter; he is from the Isle of Man in Great Britain. I had to show the ability to support him until he could obtain permission for employment. Given a choice I'd rather shoot liberals then Mexicans.

  12. TedWest says:

    So if you're equating Bush with Johnson, which is fine with me, am I to presume you're condemning both or neither? And as for the rest, I'm going to take a long time to answer, if ever, because you deserve better than my spontaneous reaction which was just one word.

  13. I didn't like LBJ and I see W as "LBJ with a human face" Gawd LBJ was ugly.
    The Republicans in Congress became Democrats the day W was sworn in. Well maybe it was earlier I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, when they actually traded in the Contract with America and conservative principles to buy votes just like the other party – the one I despise.

  14. TedWest says:

    I agree with the second part of your comment, there truly is little difference between Republicans and Democrats in two branches of government. but there's a vast difference in the third where thinking still matters.
    As for Bush being LBJ with a human face, Bush's face, indeed his whole demeanor is a mask hiding a monster, and it's impossible to say at this point just how much damage he's done. It could be horrific, or it could be minimal, but if it's the latter, it's not because he hasn't tried. he's given disaster every opportunity to take its toll… internationally, economically, on our jobs, and our health.
    He's sold out Israel, and we see it just this week where he's stopped them from doing what's needed in Gaza. He's spent us into oblivion, and his Fed appointee is ruining us monetarily, and his stimulus is outrageous. he's solely responsible for the illegal immigration disaster, and diseases that were all but unknown here are now proliferating. So why do I get the idea that you have little understanding of this?

  15. Any time there is a mass migration of people there will be dislocations and misallocations – so this may not have a viable political solution. We could have a war with Mexico but that would be the biggest blunder and tragedy in US history. Change isn’t always a bad thing it’s the fear of the unknown, which gets people upset. Big government left-liberalism is by far our biggest problem. The Bush administration has accelerated that great waste of money on most everything – it’s the spending stupid!

  16. TedWest says:

    Did you understand anything I said? If so, some indication.would be nice. I mean, I'm talking real life, right now, and you're talking abstract ideology somewhere out there. Will you need to catch one of those exotic diseases to get the point? Will an illegal need to hit you head on? Do you have any concern for Israel? Do you know what's happening in hospitals? In schools? Can you throw me a bone to reassure me you're in touch?

  17. It's just that I can't do anything about it.

    I worked with two men who where once illegal aliens. We were project managers at a steel fab shop in LA. They spoke English well and had a better attitude then many native born Americans.

    I just don't like communists so anyone who is ambitious and not into self-destructive behavior doesn't harm me. Poor people who drag down the system are the problem- close the emergency rooms to the uninsured- privatize education- privatize charity and we will be fine. Will this happen? I doubt it.

  18. TedWest says:

    You can't pay, you die? The idea that you'd turn away poor people is abhorrent to me. Any person deserves treatment if they are suffering – anybody. And what bothers me most is that I have to say that. And what bothers me next is that you feel you can say something like you did and think I'd be OK with it..
    You know, Zak, I do a lot of exaggerating in the abstract either to make a point or just to be provocative, but when it comes down to the real-life individual who needs help, he'd better get it. Anyone who could turn him away is far sicker than he is, and I don't want to know that guy, so I'm going to assume you were just trying to get a rise out of me.
    Most people are a mere few paychecks away from financial crisis, the vast majority are a serious illness from irrecoverable bankruptcy, and almost every successful person has a certain amount of luck on his side, so but for the grace of God…

  19. I'm pulling your chain- sorry 😛

  20. TedWest says:

    Well, I deserve that. And you'd think that would teach me, but it probably won't. All I can say is, I admire a person who can do a decent setup…

  21. "AFSCME – America at Work" I was driving and saw this slogan on a bumper sticker on the car in front of me. I had the desire to rear end the fool but then dediced that it was a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

