Democrats On The Art Of Walking On One Foot

It's not enough that the two candidates for the Democratic nomination would never even be there were it not for the fact that one is black and one is a woman, but now Howard Dean has put his foot back in its customary location -  his mouth.

Dean says the Republican field "looks like the 1950s and talks like the 1850s."

Interesting. In the 1950's, the Republicans were the party of civil rights, and in the 1850s, the Dems were the party of slavery. The Republicans were founded to combat slavery.

Not to be outdone, Obama has said he'll get tough – with Canada – over NAFTA. WOW! He'll court Iran and Venezuela, but our friendliest ally and one of the only NATO members fighting alongside us in Afghanistan, that one he's gonna rough up a bit.

I've always felt that closer scrutiny would cause Obama to unravel, but now I'm getting a little worried that his unraveling will take place before he's sewn up the nomination.

Meanwhile, other black politicians continue to demonstrate that they'd be a better candidate than Obama. They are being pressured to endorse Obama, and they are even receiving threats, but they aren't bending

Rep. Diane E. Watson (D-Calif.), a Clinton supporter, said:.

"I’ve gotten threatening mail" of the nature: "Your district went 61-29 Obama and you need to change."

Representative Watson continued: "But I don’t intimidate…. I would lose my seat over my principles."

And Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II (D-Mo.) is perhaps even more interesting. Also a Clinton backer, he's a superdelegate who says that other black superdelegates are receiving "nasty letters, phone calls, threats they’ll get an opponent, being called an Uncle Tom.

Now here's the best part:

Cleaver states, "This is the politics of the 1950s."

And coincidentally, the Cleaver name was also prominent in the 1950s, and it was virtually synonymous with principle.

Good luck, Howie, the race you're in puts you at a disadvantage.

And speaking of race, if you're like me, you usually really enjoy Black History Month, but I gotta say, this one's the best ever! If only it didn't have to end tonight, but at least we got an extra day this year. I know that may not seem like much, but every day counts when it comes to Obama's maturity.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Democrats On The Art Of Walking On One Foot

  1. Former Black Panther Eldridge Cleaver became a conservative Republican and ran in the 1986 Calif. Republican Primary for US Senate. LOL Great post Ted!

  2. Jeff D says:

    Generally speaking, politicians would be better off keeping their mouthes shut. Very few of them realize this, though.

  3. So we can live in a greater nightmare of Hillary or Obama? ROFLOL
    If the Democratic Party is the future of America, I want a divorce!

  4. TedWest says:

    Zak,
    I'm sorry I had to delete Lenny, but aside from him being unimaginably stupid, he's also a fine example of a liberal being guilty of everything he accuses conservatives of being.
    And while I was perfectly willing to allow him to continue here if he made even a minimal effort to be relevant and thoughtful, he not only has continued to troll, but he appears to be doing it to provoke me. Furthermore, I have never gotten over the vile responses I saw him post on someone else's blog, and I am convinced that the person we see here is Lenny doing everything he can to conceal his real self.
    Since I lose either way, I've decided to lose him at the same time
    I should add that I may have to leave the politics group and start something new as a result, but I simply will not allow my blog to become something I don't like.
    Lenny could have answered this thread on his own blog, but he knows that won't get the exposure he wanted, so he chose to muck up this one.

Leave a Reply

