Life Imitates Mary Tyler Moore

There's a memorable episode of the Mary Tyler Moore Show that asks the question – What if they held an election and no results came in?

It went something like this:

A snowstorm leaves Mary in charge of the WJM-TV newsroom during an election-night telecast. The show must remain go on until a winner is declared. One problem – the blizzard has knocked out all telephone lines, so no one knows who's winning. Anchorman Ted Baxter has to ad-lib as results remain unchanged from what they were when the phone went down hours earlier…. something like Smith – 48, Jones – 34. The more things remain the same, the more hilarity ensues.

Well, I never expected to see that in real life.

But that's exactly what we got today between noon and five, and not just on one channel. Huckabee had won the early caucus in West Virginia and people were still voting everywhere else, so all day all I heard over and over were the almost heavenly results from West Virginia, Huckabee – 52, Romney – 47… percent.

What an absolutely delightful start to what promises to be an exciting evening, even better than the Super Bowl, I bet. Go Muckney! Hillama, not so much.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life Imitates Mary Tyler Moore

  1. Jack Yan says:

    I remember that episode. The sad thing is that Chuckles the Clown is dead. A little song, a little dance. A little Seltzer down your pants.

  2. Ed Asner is one of the biggest commie lovers in America. I Pity the Fool.

  3. Jack Yan says:

    Still, he was a great Lou Grant.

Leave a Reply

