Coulter & Co… Leading The Lemmings?

Coulter & Co… Leading The Lemmings

Is John McCain beyond the age of reason? Some people barely beyond the age of consent seem to think so. And they are being influenced by people whose outlandish statements are beyond words and prove beyond a reasonable doubt that older is not necessarily wiser.

I mean, it's perfectly legitimate to press one's case against John McCain, but is it too much to ask that you be rational? Am I being too demanding to expect that? None of the candidates still standing on either side are without serious flaws, but only one is being scrutinized at the molecular level and vilified by his party, and it's not even the one who should be.

That one is Mitt Romney.

Don't get me wrong, I'd love for Romney to be the nominee, but first he has a lot of explaining to do, and he has to be able to show that he can not only answer charges but level them. So far he's an abject failure. I don't expect Super Tuesday to be a disaster for Mitt, and it could even have a good outcome, but it doesn't matter if the candidate himself is fatally flawed.

McCain isn't. That's why conservatives are abandoning reason and resorting to T & D – threats and decibels. And they should be blaming the very guy they want – Romney. He could have had the nomination in a cakewalk. Instead, he's doing what he's done to keep himself from getting it – Not much. Did you see his add in which he takes on Hillary. Did you ask yourself why? Can the guy do anything right?

I read a travesty of a column this morning in which the writer literally threw reason out the window, and that column appeared in a highly regarded conservative publication. I'm used to seeing such things come from the left, but when it comes from the right it's shocking.

I've already said many times that you can't criticize McCain if you overlook Bush's failings in the same areas. yet conservatives still shamelessly do it, and nothing McCain has done is as bad as what conservatives make it out to be – or more importantly, what Bush has done, if for no other reason (and there are other reasons) than because of the relative powers of the two offices.

But it gets worse when you bring Romney into the mix. For example, is Romney a better conservative than McCain? At best, anyone being honest can only say, "Probably." And Romney hasn't even spent many years in office where a record might be better determined.

Now I don't like to be defending McCain, and I would much prefer the Republicans had a good, strong, charismatic conservative. unfortunately, they don't. There's not even one on the horizon.

So you know the admonishment; when you're in a hole, stop digging? Well, conservatives are digging furiously – mindlessly. After nominating Reagan and Dole, some conservatives are actually advancing the idea that McCain is too old – and blaming it on his POW ordeal. Incredible.

Here's what makes that even more absurd, outrageous, astounding, shocking, preposterous – they don't even understand what things were like when the constitution was written. A President has to be at least 35 years of age. Would anyone elect a thirty-five-year-old today? God, I hope not!

But the problem is, while we might regard that as absurdly young and inexperienced, do you know what the average lifespan was in 1787 – 15. You hit puberty, they gave you a wife, you had a kid, then you both celebrated by dying… and the grandparents raised it… and they were already dead for years. Without indoor plumbing, you didn't want to live any longer anyway, and people used to sit on their front porches and wonder when the toilet would be invented.

At night, they could only dream of microwaves, and when comedians used to say, "You're goin' to the moon, Alice," no one would laugh because they needed a refrigerator before Tang. At least war finally brought us something useful – M & Ms.

OK, anyway, maybe it was like 26, but the fact is, 35 was an advanced age back then. I'm sure if the average person had lived to be 78, the founders would have set the minimum age for a President at 60 so they could get the midlife crises out of the way first.

I keep hearing about all the damage John McCain has done in the Senate. The fact is, he did very little, although maybe not for having tried? But doesn't that only make the case for getting him out of the Senate and into the Presidency where he won't be signing bills he introduced the way Bush did? And isn't it a worst case scenario if McCain is still in the Senate and Billary or Barama is President?

So if you want your teenager to be going on field trips to gay bathhouses, vote for Hillary. Although I can see where voting for Obama and having your children learn how to be slumlords might be OK, but all I ask is that conservatives demand meticulously reasoned argument – you know, like mine. And if you're not sure about what you're reading and believing, ask me. I'm always happy to help… unless you think I'm too old?!?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coulter & Co… Leading The Lemmings?

  1. Scio, Scio says:

    OK, anyway, maybe it was like 26, but the fact is, 35 was an advanced age back then.Ok, good point about the age thing. Of course, we were dealing with men who had learned fluent Greek and Hebrew by the age of 10…I imagine that a modern man would have to live to 60 to equal the amount of knowledge the founders had when they were just hitting Presidential Age. I'm just so damned tired of this election already. It's been a year and a half of constant incremental news and updates. Early primaries? What is that about? Candidates have sputtered out of the race before it was even supposed to begin!

  2. TedWest says:

    Damn, you youngsters are quite resilient and forgiving. And your good qualities don't even stop there. I agree about the length of this, but I don't think it's going to change. But at least the frenzy should die back after Tuesday. If Romney does well, conservatives will be pleased and for better or worse, he could still be the flag bearer.
    And I'm gonna shut up until then, so that should help too, no?
    XOXOX

  3. Hillary deserves the Cynic of the Year Award but her followers are too damn stupid or ignorant to know her.

  4. memtony says:

    I think we can all agree that our primary system is severely broken if politicians spend two years campaigning prior to the nomination and then voters end up with two candidates that are frightfully similar in their views and political syles.
    At the beginning of this whole mess I was thrilled at the prospect of either Hillary or Obama being nominated by the Democrats because I considered both of them unbelievably beatable. But if McCain is the Republican nominee, people aren't going to see much substantive difference and I'm afraid that they probably will resort to useless criteria such as age, race, gender, or charisma.

  5. TedWest says:

    You guys seem to think even less of people than I do, and I wouldn't have believed that possible, but I think we should wait and see what happens on Tuesday. Otherwise we could end up expending a lot more energy and possibly hating each other before then for no reason. Maybe after Tuesday, we can brainstorm and find a good reason?

  6. Scio, Scio says:

    I agree. We'll need to save our energy for fighting off the tide of smug liberals who smell blood in the water.

  7. Mass man is an ignorant fool. I wouldn't give two cents to save/love mankind. Now individuals are quite different- the drive to succeed and prosper over circumstances inspires me. I just hate politics.

  8. Chad says:

    Great post, Ted. I see you're still your old crotchety self. And as for humor, you never fail to disappoint me. But I have to admit, man: I can't stand McCain. I hated his politics long before he ever became deluded enough to think he was presidential material (not in general) on some key issues which are near and dear to this old lemming's heart. Frankly, I never got over the knife in the back with the filibuster B.S. I also resented how he, Teddy K., and Bushy Jr. conspired bring us the 10th wonder of the world (just behind the E.U.'s 9th): "Open boarders." I also hate all the candidates positions on free trade. Basically, I'm just screwed. I can offer you this one comfort: I won't vote for Clinton even if the GOP gets trained monkeys to run for office….Oh yeah, they already did. Anyway, good to see still riding the lightening my friend. Come out and visit us again sometime over at <a href="http://mythoughtworld.com">mythoughtworld.com</a&gt; sometime. The site is totally redesigned now and I'd love to get your feedback.

  9. TedWest says:

    Chad, my near and dear, do I hope this was not a Freudian slip or that it was…
    "you never fail to disappoint…" because I can see why it might not be considering that I haven't been too much of a friend of late.
    I assure you that apearances are deceiving, and I will make a point of looking in momentarily.
    I absolutely LOVE the "open boarders" bit. It's either a brilliant typo or brilliantly creative.
    And Chad, I've really come to like this place. At least two out of every three conservatives addn libertarians are great here. Plus there's no pressure and I've made the political page several times. I don't know what that is, but it must be a very great honor.
    Anyway, I sold my boat, so now I have more free time. it wasn't that I spent a lot of time on it before – or any at all for that matter, it's just that I was spending all my time watching it deteriorate and worrying that it would sink before it would sell.

Leave a Reply

