The Republicans’ White Elephant

What's the biggest problem Republicans face?

You want it in a nutshell? The problem Republicans face is; they have no face.

We're all familiar with the "Reagan Republican:" Does anyone reading this regard him or her self as a Romney Republican? If so, would you kindly describe than animal?

I've been characterizing Romney with words like: mechanical, rehearsed, robotic, stiff, mannequin-like, and probably a few others that aren't as flattering, but there's a fellow named Green (sorry I didn't get the first name) who was talking about the "heated" exchange between McCain and Romney in last night's debate when McCain accused Romney of backing a timetable for Iraq – the irritated Romney, Green says, "spoke in the same tone he'd use when ordering fine wine in a restaurant."

So there it is, would Reagan even order fine wine? A Martini with a jelly bean, maybe.

Republicans haven't embraced McCain, but they haven't embraced Romney either. And he hasn't embraced them. In fact, I dare say John McCain has made more overtures to the base than Romney has, and with time growing short for Mitt to turn things around, he still doesn't seem to understand what he needs to project. He's actually more like Fred Thompson than Ronald Reagan.

I keep hoping Romney will take that spark he showed after his Michigan win and turn it into a wildfire, but as Charles Krauthammer put it, he hasn't up to now, so there's no reason to think things will change.

What's even more interesting is how right-side commentators have responded to the McCain surge. I didn't hear anyone savage the Senator the way they did in 2000 except, well, Savage himself, which could only mean that for whatever reason, pundits felt they needed to keep their options open.

And now that John McCain is the clear frontrunner, those options have narrowed considerably. Rush Limbaugh has been more tempered than I've ever heard him. Sean Hannity still doesn't accept McCain, but he's sure not mounting a counter-offensive. Only Ann Coulter got tougher, and her column yesterday was one of the worst she's ever written, utterly devoid of humor and as shrill as a Hillary stump speech.

So Republicans had better not just resign themselves to McCain if he's still on top after Super Tuesday, they'd do well to swallow hard and embrace him in the hope that he'll embrace them.

Why? because they'll need him more than he needs them. Some people have said they won't vote for McCain, that they'll just stay home. What a great way to render yourselves irrelevant. McCain hasn't needed you much to win what he already has, why would he need you at all if he wins the election?

I like to talk about the conservatives who are being driven mad by McCain's success, but when I do, I'm really referring to one in particular. She's an otherwise lovely young woman who quite literally becomes insane when talking about John McCain.

We parted company two years ago when Missy labeled McCain a traitor, not to conservatives, but to the country. I felt badly because one has to be crazy to say what she said, but I didn't want to entertain that kind of talk, much less indulge her on it.

So here we sit with no perfect candidate. The Dems think they have two – but that's another liberal illusion. The fact is that John McCain simply cannot be worse than George Bush, and 70 percent of Republicans still think the President is just fine which makes the case that Missy may have been merely the most visible crazy conservative.

Let's get some things straight once and for all, since I'm just as tired of right-wing nonsense as I am left-wing nonsense. John McCain's name is on the title of McCain-Feingold, but the name that appears where it really counts is that of George Bush. McCain introduced a bill. That bill had input and agreement from a majority of the Congress, and they are every bit as responsible as McCain is. But again, in the end, the sole responsibility lies with Jorge Whatsaveto Bush who signed it – and every other bill that came across his desk save one rather insignificant bone he tossed to conservatives.

And regarding McCain's lack of support of the Bush tax cut, what part of McCain's "Hey, where's the spending cuts" question don't you self-described conservatives understand? Especially because seven years later, your President still hasn't seen an expenditure he didn't like? And why aren't you outraged that Bush now threatens to veto spending when he never did it even once before?

The bottom line is that if John McCain is the nominee, if you don't get behind him at least as much as you did and continue to do for George Bush, McCain isn't the traitor, you are… and you can add "hypocrite' to that.

I know that's tough, but it's about time you heard some straight talk.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Republicans’ White Elephant

  1. Snowy says:

    We have frozen pizzas in Oz made by McCain. Their jingle used to be, "Ah, McCain, you've done it again". Just thought you'd like to know that.BTW, the eye op went OK.

  2. Snowy says:

    Oh, and McCain seems to be the pick from where this liberal sits. I guess that should put the kiss of death on him for conservatives. Age would seem to be his biggest drawback. He'd be 80 by the time of a second term.

  3. dox^2 says:

    So here we sit with no perfect candidate. The Dems think they have
    two – but that's another liberal illusion. The fact is that John McCain
    simply cannot be worse than George Bush, and 70 percent of Republicans
    still think the President is just fine which makes the case that Missy
    may have been merely the most visible crazy conservative.
    Let's get some things straight once and for all, since I'm just as
    tired of right-wing nonsense as I am left-wing nonsense. John McCain's
    name is on the title of McCain-Feingold, but the name that appears
    where it really counts is that of George Bush. McCain introduced a
    bill. That bill had input and agreement from a majority of the
    Congress, and they are every bit as responsible as McCain is. But
    again, in the end, the sole responsibility lies with Jorge Whatsaveto
    Bush who signed it – and every other bill that came across his desk
    save one rather insignificant bone he tossed to conservatives.Kind of sums it all up in my opinion. I personally don't think McCain is perfect — but heck neither was Rudy and I thought he was the best choice prior to his stage bow.And what kills me about the base is that those who were supporting Thompson and saying they would never vote for McCain (ever) because of things like campaign finance I guess were never really going to fault Thompson for voting for McCain-Feingold.

  4. TedWest says:

    Please forgive me for not inquiring. I thought about you and I didn't follow up at that moment, but I'm so glad to hear you're OK. I trust "OK" meant to major complications?
    Actually, I think McCain is a good pick for a large majority of people, so I'm not the least bit concerned you think so, Snow.
    Dox,
    An excellent point about Thompson.
    You know what frosts me, it's the fact that people get raving mad at McCain which is fine, but then they not only don't mention it, they don't even acknowledge that it was Bush who did them in. He's not only far more culpable than McCain, he's actually the only one who is to blame. Well, him and the Supreme Court, that is.

  5. TedWest says:

    Please forgive me for not inquiring. I thought about you and I didn't follow up at that moment, but I'm so glad to hear you're OK. I trust "OK" meant to major complications?
    Actually, I think McCain is a good pick for a large majority of people, so I'm not the least bit concerned you think so, Snow.
    Dox,
    An excellent point about Thompson.
    You know what frosts me, it's the fact that people get raving mad at McCain which is fine, but then they not only don't mention it, they don't even acknowledge that it was Bush who did them in. He's not only far more culpable than McCain, he's actually the only one who is to blame. Well, him and the Supreme Court, that is.

  6. Snowy says:

    Well, I've still got my eye, so I guess that's a plus. It's lost its soreness, and seems to be doing all it should. I have to visit an optometrist in a week.I still don't think McCain will win. I think there will be a high turnout of the young who will get behind Obama because he's talking change, and they can identify with someone young. That's what happened here. Sorry and all…

  7. dox^2 says:

    You are right about Bush. He just likes to sign bills. His first veto was five years into his administration. I believe that is sacrilegious if you are a Republican.And what has he actually vetoed… stem cell research (twice), the SCHIP program, and the Iraq Accountability Appropriations Act.Bush's philosophy — disregard earmark spending — cause hey I am getting what I want too. I believe he files that under "spenderfacation."

  8. TedWest says:

    I LOVE to see people create new words!
    The spending and the border are two areas where Bush's conduct (or lack of it as regards the border) goes far beyond inexcusable.
    Snowy,
    You're assuming Obama will get the nomination? I wouldn't. And then I sure wouldn't bet on the young carrying him to victory. But even more than that, the more Barry talks, the worse he looks, especially when he has to actually talk about issues on which he has no visible or viable positions.I've never actually seen such a lightweight as Obama so close to getting a nomination. Plus, he's got that Presidential Name Problem…
    If things go as I see them, either women will be angry that Hillary fails or blacks will be angry that Obama fails, and I hate both groups for voting for either simply because of his race or her gender.

  9. Snowy says:

    They don't vote according to reason. They vote because of emotion. You know that. And the mood is for change. Obama is dragging in the money. And that's the ultimate seal of approval. Everyone wants to back a winner. Still, I don't take the Establishment lightly, so Clinton may prevail. I wouldn't be a liberal if I wasn't paranoid…

  10. TedWest says:

    This situation with the Dems is too fluid, but we'll know very soon, and if I had to bet, I would go with Clinton because Obama's support is visible, but the Clintons have all the right people who stand to benefit from them. They won't bail until the ship is clearly sinking.
    But if Obama is nominated, he's the most liberal Senator, and he won't have the same support Kennedy had. When he starts talking about his positions – on the war, abortion, drugs, invading Pakistan..being OK with genocide in Iraq… it should get interesting.. and McCain is no Nixon. But I do think everyone would agree that there's never been an election like this one..

  11. Snowy says:

    But I do think everyone would agree that there's never been an election like this one..Can't argue with that. I must be mellowing…

Leave a Reply

