Now That’s An Endorsement!

I think Rudy Giuliani leapt to #1 on the Top Ten Endorsements List today, and he made me proud, demonstrating why I felt he was the best man for the Presidency. In announcing he was dropping out of the race, he appeared warm, confident and strong… almost exuberant… a genuine hero like the man standing next to him. And Giuliani was more eloquent than I've ever heard him as he turned to give a heartfelt endorsement to his long time friend, John McCain.

As the two stood together, you could see that they would be a most formidable team against any Democrat

Rudy and John also would make anyone proud to be a Republican, so it's ironic that these men are the least Republican-like in my lifetime and perhaps ever, and it could signal a huge shift in the mentality if not the composition of the party. I doubt the heartwarming scene will result in true conservatives suddenly embracing McCain, but it will be an indelible image for those who are interested in anyone but Hillary.

I personally don't care about McCain's stand on the Bush tax cuts. Nor do I hold McCain-Feingold against him. That's all Bush's responsibility. But I am very concerned with McCain's desire to give amnesty to illegals. He says that what he advocates isn't anything of the kind, and we're probably going to find out if he's right. I'm equally concerned about his stance on "global warming" – he believes the nonsense, and that's about as scary (and potentially costly) as being inundated with illegal aliens.

I'm also not happy with McCain's stand on "torture," but I can live with that for two reasons:

1) I believe he'll modify his position as circumstances require, and…

2) Just by winning, he'll be torturing many more people than he could ever imagine.

So overall, I can't say I'm pleased that John McCain appears to be on the verge of clinching the nomination, but that's countered by the realization that Mitt Romney can't win in November if he remains the man we've been seeing up to now, and he almost certainly will. Thus, as a result of Florida's quiet mayhem, it would not be hard to cast my vote for a McCain-Giuliani ticket. The more sobering realization is that it now might be easier to do that than vote for Romney-????.

But let's see how Mitzi does from now to next Tuesday, and be sure to let me know if you come up with an electrifying VP candidate for him.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Now That’s An Endorsement!

  1. dox^2 says:

    Very good indeed.

  2. dox^2 says:

    Looks like your post made the vox politics page.

  3. Jeff D says:

    McCain/Guiliani?

  4. We have 2 Democratic Parties now- oh happy day. 😦

  5. TedWest says:

    Jeff,
    It makes perfect sense both from a geography and ideology standpoint, plus we they'd be untouchable on security.
    Zak,
    I feel your pain. 😉
    Stay pure, my friend – do it for for me. I'm weak.

  6. Scio, Scio says:

    Man, Ted,They like you on that Politics page. So anyway, I liked Romney's speech after the primary. Do you think that if we see that Romney from now on it would make a difference?

  7. TedWest says:

    I liked Romney very much when he spoke after Michigan's primary. I didn't see his speech after Florida. But I would say that his Michigan demeanor was -minimum-. I mean that in terms of looseness and sincerity. I haven't seen him as relaxed and spontaneous other than that, and he needs desperately to seem less mechanical.
    I say that not because it makes people feel better about him because he's more like one of them, which it would, but because he seems detached and superficial – as if he was a success in business, but it's more a matter of luck than skill. I really don't know who I'd be voting for with Romney, do you?
    Now about this politics page, how do I find that? I only ask because I'd like to see if I like myself as much as you say they like me. But sight unseen, I think the lesson might be to not use "dirtbag" and "scumbag" when referring to Democrats. Consider it an exercise in creativity and maybe go with something like "pus challenged" ?!?

Leave a Reply

