Romney Comes Alive!

Mitt Romney's strong win in Michigan was unexpected, but when you saw his victory speech tonight, you wonder why. As is usual, it was a bit over-rehearsed, but it's what he said and the way he said it – like a winner, that made you realize that this guy isn't just competent, he's a somebody who can accomplish something – like Reagan did.

As an aside, Romney had his family behind him and his wife looked like a winner too, while McCain had the honorable dirtbag, Lindsay Graham behind him.

I've always felt it was between Romney and Thompson, and Fred just hasn't caught fire. And while it's still not too late, Romney tossed some fire retardant on him tonight. of course, Rudy, McCain and Huckabee aren't necessarily finished, but it's hard to see them succeeding if Romney sticks with the message and tone and enthusiasm he had tonight.

And suddenly, the Republicans prospects don't seem so bleak. When you put Romney and his wife alongside the Clintons, I don't see how people prefer the Clintons. When you put the Romneys next to the Obamas it's a toss-up on appearance and charisma, but Romney's experience and accomplishments tower over Obama in a way that should become more important as the campaigns wear on and the economy wears down.

Romney was electric tonight, and it was enough to light up more than one compact fluorescent, I think.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Romney Comes Alive!

  1. Urban Lenny says:

    You don't think his recent conversion on a whole host of issues is a liability for him?

  2. TedWest says:

    There are two ways to answer that question:
    1) I see why you like Barama, that question is the very essence of the audacity of hope.
    2) Have you apologized to Norm yet?

  3. Urban Lenny says:

    1) perhaps im misunderstanding this question, but hope has nothing to do with the fact that Mitt Romney makes John Kerry look like a paragon of consistency.2) im terribly amused that you've taken up this cause. must i really explain this is all its detail to you? regardless of your previous statements on your problem with the word "bigot", that is exactly what that half-wit is. he lost his childish mind when i called him that, modified with the word "fucking" in front of it. i very much wish norman had not gone back and selectively erased many of the comments and exchanges– including the original ones regarding the factual inaccuracies and racist language in his posts concerning "barama". that was the crux of the initial argument.and contrary to your repeated assertions, i do not throw the word "bigot" around to shut down debate when i see fit, nor do i simply stop talking when it suits my purposes. bigotry and willful ignorance is what shuts down debate. if we can not agree that the sky is blue, or that me pointing out the gross and demonstrable factual inaccuracies and racist overtones of a poorly-written chain email that's been floating around the internet ether does NOT, in fact, make me a "muzzie"-loving, anti-american, terrorist sympathizer who hates america and baby jesus, well then there's no debate to be had, is there.look ted– i can be civil with those who want to talk civilly, and i can act irrationally and push the buttons of ignorant religious racists who want to be irrational and lash out because i drop an f-bomb.

  4. TedWest says:

    Lenny,
    I don't know if I saw the edited or unedited version, but I saw enough.I certainly have my fun with people I consider ignorant, you you employed a most juvenile version of the very sort of thing you hated to see in him, and you did it on his blog, and, it seemed to me, that you were then following him around to continue your tactic, thus subjecting a lot more people to both your nonsense.
    You should go back and read my first comment in Scio's thread before I realized there was more than met the eye.
    And you should also know that this has nothing to do with Norm. He could be as you describe, or he could just be venting, I don't know for two reasons: 1) I don't know anything more than what I read in the thread you were involved in, and 2) I can't afford a translator, and although I'm Irish, my ability to translate Gibberish to English is rusty.
    No, this is between you and me. You need to not just recognize when you're wrong (as you seemed to appear to do in your acknowledgment over at Scio's) and move on, you need to have the courage and humility to attempt to set right your part in the matter. That means you don't have to accept what you consider bigotry, but you do need to let him know you're ashamed by your own conduct.
    Because if you're not, then I need to stop treating you as if you have some potential to be rational. Because what you're doing here is a front It's your best behavior, and frankly, this isn't even the place for that. I'd prefer wild and rowdy – but vulgarity free. it's all part of discipline, and there's nothing more disciplined than comedy -OK, maybe Navy Seals are, but that's it.
    Btw, the reason I didn't respond to you in Scio's other thread on bias was that you completely misinterpreted my remarks, although I can't remember now what they were, and I figured, if you can't comprehend or you're so biased that you're only seeing what you want, what's the point?
    Which is why I'm being non-responsive with respect to your initial question and to your even more preposterous Kerry comment. I mean, are you looking for a reason to vote for Romney? If not, why would I want to explain anything to you? Besides, I can't tell if you're even old enough to vote?

  5. Urban Lenny says:

    well Ted i suppose you'll have to write me off as hopelessly beyond rational then, as i have no intention– nor do i feel the need– to set anything "right" with anyone here. the truth is, i suppose i am prejudiced after all– people like Norm represent to me everything that is wrong with America: willful (and proud) ignorance; religious fundamentalism; racism… I am prejudiced against people like that. the only difference between his prejudice and mine is that mine is based not on ethnicity or race– things out of the control of the victims of that brand of discrimination– but rather on the conscious choices people have made– to reject facts, science, the idea of inherent equality, progress, etc etc.and no– of course i'm not looking for a reason to vote for Romney. I guess i was just surprised you'd consider him– and not just because of the 180 degree change in many of his positions.

  6. Scio, Scio says:

    I'm happy about Romney's performance in Michigan. I basically take my cues from National Review, and while I don't agree with their pick for endorsement I can certainly understand their rationale. Romney is viable and effective.Ronald Reagan, after all, was no saint. I think Romney's turnaround on social issues is admirable and genuine, but his consistent record of fiscal discipline and economic turnaround is quite attractive.I've begun praying for a Romney-Thompson ticket…or the reverse.

  7. TedWest says:

    One clue that Romney is our strongest candidate is the fact that Democrats keep viciously attacking him while expressing their deep respect for Mike Huckabee and John McCain… Never take advice from your political enemies. Turn on any cable news show right now, and you will see Democratic pundits attacking Romney, calling him a "flip-flopper," and heaping praise on McCain and Huckleberry… Doesn't that raise the tiniest suspicions in any of you? …Are you familiar with our "no exchange/no return" policy on presidential candidates? Voting for McCain because he was a POW a quarter-century ago or Huckabee because he was a Baptist preacher is like buying a new car because you like the color. The candidate Republicans should be clamoring for is the one liberals are feverishly denouncing. That is Mitt Romney by a landslide.
    – – Ann Coulter

  8. Scio, Scio says:

    I think it's going to start going Romney's way, and big, and soon.

  9. TedWest says:

    Romney is the best candidate on either side. That didn't become apparent until his victory speech in Michigan, but suddenly, the demeanor was that of a winner.
    Now I'm concerned about Romney. For example, I just heard him say yesterday that he'd consider raising the retirement age for Social Security. That should outrage everyone since it amounts to either a tax increase or indentured servitude, whichever way you choose to look at it – or both.
    However, I am not as concerned about him as I was about George Bush whom I have never voted for. I would vote for Romney as things stand, and most especially because the Democrat candidates are all worse than Dukakis by a tank driven mile.
    Whatever that means.
    I saw Romney on Fox and Fiends yesterday, and he said something no one can disagree with – that none of the Democrats have experience running so much as a corner store. True enough. But in fact, they are the least credentialed Democrats in… probably ever, and that's apparent every time one opens its mouth.
    Inspect the teeth, you'll see.
    Did you find it as amusing as I did that Lenny was talking about Romney flip-flops here as Ann cites that transparent tactic in her column? And then he didn't (because he couldn't) list a few of the "whole host?" Among themselves, liberals are profound. When they venture out, well, they sound like children.

Leave a Reply

