Our Next President Is…

Barack Obama… or Mitt Romney

I don't want that to be a prediction which is why I am hurrying to say it before the New Hampshire results are in.

But as things stand, here's how I size up the election:

Were Hillary or Edwards to get the Dem nomination, I not only would not support them at any second during their four years, I would immediately and unceasingly do everything I could to undermine them.

Now I don't matter one bit, but I think I speak for other people who do, and no one on the right would or should give either of those two even the benefit of the doubt much less a break.

On the Republican side, I like Thompson, but he won't be elected and his own attitude is the reason. However, as with the Bush legacy possibilities, that part is fluid. If by some means Thompson could catch fire inside, He might have a chance to win.

But he won't, so that leaves the rest.

And of them, only Romney has a chance, albeit not a good one given the current atmosphere, though a Romney-Huckabee ticket might have greater strength. All the others, including Huckabee, have too many significant negatives. It doesn't show at the moment, but McCain is literally hated, Giuliani is too liberal and his personal life is a weight, and Huckabee is Bush Lite.

And none of them save for Romney look young and strong enough to stand on a stage with Obama and provide a viable alternative. Obama also offers the possibility of a fresh start, and that seems to have a great appeal at the moment.

So in a Romney vs Obama contest, Romney has the name, and Obama has the edge. I don't want to make the call, but those two are the only decent possibilities for both sides, and even I would give Obama a honeymoon even though I hate what he's likely to do afterward.

Of course, my opinion could change as the race wears on, but the viable candidates won't. but I mean it's record warm on Primary day, Do you think Obama ordered it be that way?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Our Next President Is…

  1. Jack Yan says:

    That’s a pretty good summary. And we know of the less thoughtful people out there, they won’t vote based on record. They vote based on who looks most likely to win and darn their values. Right now, Sen. Obama looks most likely to win among the Dems, though nothing is clear in the GOP. I agree with your assessments of former mayor Giuliani and of Sen. McCain.

  2. TedWest says:

    Jack,
    I just heard that McCain won every age group in New Hampshire – except seniors.
    I think he would be the strongest President if our only concern was terrorism, but many of his domestic positions are just terrible, and I would not support him now, even though I lost friends for staunchly supporting him several years ago.

  3. Jack & Ted:

    McCain is ahead, I doubt that he will actually win the nomination. I live in AZ and have never voted for him and very much doubt that I could ever vote for McCain even against Hillary or Gus Hall for that matter.

  4. TedWest says:

    Zak, I don't think he can get the nomination either, but if he can't, it would seem that it's Romney since to me, the big losers tonight are Thompson and Giuliani. However, a lot depends on Michigan. If Romney doesn't win there, McCain has a much better chance of going all the way.
    I have to say that this is the most interesting election since Reagan in 1980 for me.
    Btw, Huck said today that he is categorically NOT in favor of a constitutional amendment that would stop the anchor baby outrage.

  5. *rolls eyes* yes I'm sure Obama had his supporters go out with aerosol cans to make it warmer, or perhaps God wanted to show his blessings on Huckabee, who knows…After reading about Romney on Wikipedia, he seems to be the most realistic candidate to deal with America's financial and economic issues that may arise in the next 4 years.As for Obama, well, he's fresh. His main attraction is that he's new, so people don't actually know what's in store by voting for him, thus the change he is promising is a possibility….or not.That's basically the gamble for voting Obama.

  6. Urban Lenny says:

    "Were Hillary or Edwards to get the Dem nomination, I not only would not
    support them at any second during their four years, I would immediately
    and unceasingly do everything I could to undermine them."Which is exactly why i support Barack Obama. Your certainly not alone in that sentiment. I can think of about 250 congressmembers that would spend all their energy doing the same thing. Hillary winning tonight is certainly not the outcome i was hoping for.I really dont see how Romney has a shot anymore. It's down to Huck and McCain i think– which understandably scares the shit out of the Weekly Standard/National Review/WSJ republican establishment. Romney really is their only hope, so i'm sure they'll do all they can (read Hugh Hewitt to get an idea– he's nothing if not optimistic) to keep him afloat. But Romney is so transparently phony, such a blatant panderer, that even his own staffers recognize it.I know that base republicans dont trust McCain. It's worth remembering that right now Huckabee has a sizable lead nationally– the evangelicals and born-agains love him– he's one of them. Long story short: Republicans have a mess on their hands. The party is fracturing, and my opinion is that the only thing that can hold it together is Hillary Clinton being nominated by the Democrats.

  7. TedWest says:

    Lenny,
    I never thought I'd say this, but that was a darn good analysis.
    The only part I don't agree with is that Romney's done, and I say that because New Hampshire often goes for people who don't win.
    I was impressed with Romney's speech, but I don't think he's seemed phony as much as slick and rehearsed and plastic. Although you put that all together and it does about translate to phony.
    I did not like Obama's speech as he rambled though all the changes he was going to make, but he sure seemed to please his supporters. But I was glad Hillary won to keep Obama from steamrolling the nomination and to preserve the possibility of a Republican win.
    Not that they couldn't beat Obama, but if he were to become transcendent and didn't have to answer particular questions and stake out specific positions, momentum might take him right to the White House. But if answers, issues and positions do matter, he could have a very hard time.
    A-Man, also a very good analysis from my perspective. Romney has the best credentials of anyone, and I think he might be good as President, but there is that feeling that you don't know what you'll be getting
    Although every candidate is an unknown except for Hillary and McCain. Ironically, they are the least liked candidates in their respective parties.
    * * *
    Can I just say that I hope somehow that hostility creeps back in here? I mean, I like conflict, and I fear that we've already come too far such that I won't feel comfortable being as nasty as I so want to be. And if that happens, I'll blame Snowy, and I know you people don't want a pensioner to bear that responsibility?!?
    Besides, I'm sure you liberals (and I know who you are if you don't) are just being rational as a ruse. It's exactly like when Chandler wanted Phoebe to name a baby after him instead of Joey, so he pretended not to like his name and Phoebe felt sorry for him and he won.
    I don't know how long you can maintain the facade, but it's already way longer than I would have thought.

  8. Urban Lenny says:

    speaking of shitty speeches, how bad was McCain's? good god– he couldn't even read it convincingly. and thanks– political analysis is (small) part of what i do to pay the bills. if i can get a degree as a therapist, perhaps i could become an analrapist.

  9. TedWest says:

    I didn't see McCain's speech, just a small snippet, but he relies more on manner than eloquence.
    Was the joke another example from South Park?

  10. Urban Lenny says:

    nah– from Arrested Development. David Cross' character Tobias Funke obliviously made up the title for himself. You gotta see that show.

  11. TedWest says:

    Why, are you saying that example does the show a gross disservice?

  12. Urban Lenny says:

    what? what example specifically? im not sure i get you. as a show, AD is brilliant. david cross' character is one of the best parts. and the "analrapist" business card is hilarious.

  13. TedWest says:

    OK, I'm sorry, I'm not used to talking to liberals.
    You posted something that you apparently thought was funny. I didn't, so I tried to relate it to my comments on the Julia Gorin quote from South Park which isn't funny – both the particular quote and the show.
    So then you told me that it was from the show, Arrested Development, with which I was unfamiliar, and that I had to see it, so I expressed the hope that the card was not a good example of the show's material, and you responded now, telling me that you didn't get my point, but that the show is "brilliant," which,if I were the cynical type, I might ask, in whose eyes?
    But since that's obviously your view, I don't want to be insulting, so I'll only express my grave, grave, grave doubts as I ask what channel it's on and when?
    However, I should warn you that if you're paying an extra subscription fee for this channel, I would have to question your understanding of "brilliant."

  14. Urban Lenny says:

    it used to be on FOX– you can buy it or NetFlix it on DVD. ask anyone– it's one of the funniest shows that's ever been on.

  15. TedWest says:

    What? First of all, I don't ask "anyone" about anything, and most specifically about comedy. That's because most people will laugh at anything except what's actually funny.
    Second, what's this "buy' of which you speak? Did you miss what I said above? Now you're welcome to send me a DVD, but then if you wanted me to comment after that, you'd have to send a player along with it…
    But it would be worth it based on what you've gained talking to me, no?

  16. Urban Lenny says:

    heh. no DVD player? wow. does your VHS player still load from the top? kidding.well if you dont have a DVD player, your SOL man– we'll have to leave it there. i promise i'll be more careful with my comedic references in the future.

  17. TedWest says:

    A VHS player? Do they have those or are you just out of touch?
    OK, now this is serious. You've been a good sport, and I'm surprised and impressed that you've been able to remain detached and civil.
    Now I don't want to give you the wrong idea. I have not been testing you, it's just been me being me, but I did consciously think that i might not have been as direct with someone on my side of things.
    So I appreciate our exchanges and your resilience, especially in light of our initial encounters and political differences. however, if you tell anyone I said that, I'll deny it, even if you show them this entry.
    As for your being more discerning about comedy, I thank you, but I also feel that will be highly beneficial to you in the long run… kid. As Steve martin said, "Comedy isn't pretty."
    He also said that he felt you should get to know someone before you use and abuse them… and I know you a lot better than I did when you showed up here.

Leave a Reply

