Buying Time?

Did you buy Time's choice of Vladimir Putin as the Person of the Year?

If you've been following along here, and who hasn't, you know I didn't and I got into a big row over it with several people (and I use that term loosing in regard to Lenny).

Well it turns out that Putin may be #1 in eyes of mainstream media, but David Petraeus in the Person of the Year by telegraph.

That's right, the UK Telegraph not only named General David Petraeus it's Person of the Year, it created the honor and made him its first recipient..

And guess what, it was brought to my attention by one of the people I was arguing with (no, not Lenny, are you nuts?), who by this very action has proven he's not only not a liberal, but rather a pretty big person.

Of course, there's the possibility he did it just to redeem himself and show me up, but who am I to attribute motive?

Anyway,.he seemed a bit reluctant when I asked if I could use his name in writing about this, so I'm only going to use it once. Hat tip to Jeff.

And while the fact that General Petraeus has been named by a British paper is very big news in itself, it's not the biggest part of the story. It's the story itself that's bigger than the honor it confers. I say that because it paints a picture of Petraeus as a veritable modern-day George Washington, and in doing so it is both educational and laudatory. In short, it deserves the Story of the Year award because it is so generous and inspirational. It also shows that while the British public may not be enamored of the Iraq war, at least one media outlet is coldly objective and pinpoint accurate.

General David Petraeus was smeared by MoveOn and characterized as a liar by Hillary Rodman Clinton, but through one British news organization, he is not just accorded the recognition he was due but failed to get from American media, he also receives some compensation for the outrageous treatment he's received from our beloved far left.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Jeff (yeah, so sue me), and goodnight General Petraeus wherever you are.

And damn Vox if this is too small to read, because I can't tell.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Buying Time?

  1. Indiana says:

    Hmm, i dont know what else to say, im still trying to get over the fact a UK paper actually said something good regarding anything to do with the war let alone the person thats lead and succeeded in the biggest strategy change in the wars history. Good for them, hat tip to the UK Telegraph.

  2. Urban Lenny says:

    The fact that you need to throw in gratuitous personal insults into your posts against other people is at once both extremely humorous and depressingly pathetic. On the other hand, I'm flattered you're thinking of me.

  3. TedWest says:

    Oh I'm thinking about you, Lenny. What I was interested in is whether or not you're paying attention, and I see you are. Good… there may be hope for you yet.
    Of course you still have a question to answer, but baby steps are better than nothing.
    And to the two gentlemen ahead of you…
    I was actually overwhelmed by the article for the reasons both of you have mentioned. This appears to be an extraordinary man, and it was awe inspiring that a British paper would take a risk like that. It was actually hope affirming… in other words, not that anything has been accomplished by the award, we just shouldn't give up hope yet.

  4. Jeff D says:

    I'm not a liberal dammit….even if I was born and raised in Massachusetts. :)Or at the very least, I'm sure as heck not the worst of the bunch. Most of them were teaching me various subjects in high school.

  5. Jack Yan says:

    Lenny, I like reading contrary opinions to be better informed of different arguments, so if it’s any consolation, I clicked on your link to surf your blog.

  6. TedWest says:

    Jeff & Jack…
    Went up the hill…
    No seriously, but there, that's the problem – things are getting far too friendly around here, and I assure you, I haven't changed, so it must be you?
    Jeff, I thought I made it clear that you aren't a liberal, even if you'll always be one in my eyes. Of course I'd also thought I'd blown you away with that last message I sent you.
    And Jack, could you always make sure you surf Lenny's blog after you've left this one, not before… I mean, I don't want you tracking that stuff in here?!?

  7. Jeff D says:

    lol, I know I was just messing around, hence the stupid smiley faces. That's the only way to let people know you're joking on these things. I know I'm pretty far left of you, but that's not saying much really. I'm getting inundated with New Hampshire news from the TV at the moment. Good times!

  8. TedWest says:

    I had to turn it off when Hillary came on – not because Hillary was talking, but in order to stop my wife's screaming.

  9. Jeff D says:

    A perfectly legitimate reason. I was somewhat curious as to why she was wearing a carpet for a jacket, though.

  10. TedWest says:

    Well, in her defense, it was red.

  11. Jack Yan says:

    All good, Ted: I do come here first, to put your mind at ease.

  12. TedWest says:

    Jack,
    Thank you for that small courtesy, and I want to mention that because of you, I, too, visited Lenny's blog, and I was surprised to find that he wasn't frothing. In fact, he's not even politically obsessed the way, say, I am.and he presented some interesting information on other topics.
    Of course, he wasn't able to achieve objectivity when he did get down to current events, what with the preposterous statement that no one can say the surge has worked until Iraq reaches political equanimity. Man, liberals, eh!?!
    And then there was that blurb about Fox editing Ron Paul out of an AP article they posted. Why would he spend time on that? What was he trying to say? Does he watch his own media that closely?
    And doesn't he know that the AP is made for editing? But I'm sure there is something profound that I missed because raw liberal bias can't be it, and Lenny is too professional to waste time on the trivial.

  13. Jeff D says:

    Ted, if you're down for some belly-laughs courtesy of the Ron Paul moonbats, check out all the threads here about how the election results were tainted and Ron Paul was having votes stolen from them. http://www.dailypaul.com/forum/177Anyone who introduces the voice of reason is quickly shouted down as a CIA plant. It's a good five minutes worth of fun until you realize how utterly insane they are.

  14. TedWest says:

    It felt a little like a rabid left site, though there was a big difference: most of their concerns are legitimate whereas the left's concerns arise from paranoia.
    The other big difference is that Paul isn't going to be President, but Clinton or Obama could be.

Leave a Reply

