The Winner? The Bad Guys

No matter who wins the Democratic Caucus in Iowa, a bad guy will emerge as the frontrunner, so I'm not going to talk about that.

I'm more concerned that a bad guy will win on the Republican side – and that's Mike Huckabee.

I've said a number of times that there won't be a President Huckabee, and I stand by that, but it's discomfiting that a party, even a small part of one would prefer this guy to some decent candidates, which is to say, all the other Republicans running.

It's not just the name that sounds like the past tense of "hick" when he's really present tense, or that it's reminiscent of "chuckle" and "huckabuck," it's that this guy is way more compassionate than the current occupier of the White House, and Bush is plenty bad enough. We don't need competition for the "Worst President Ever" award.

Huckabee stands for little that's conservative, and what he does stand for, he does so paternalistically. He should have numbers in the Ron Paul range, but instead, he's a darling because he's religious.

But even there he is a hypocrite. He masks his viciousness in piety, and as a Christian, Romney is far more genuine . He, along with Thompson and McCain, appear to be the most decent candidates in the race.

Huckabee's latest stunt of pulling an attack ad and then showing it to the press is, as someone observed, akin to saying, "I'm not going to call him names, but if I were to do so, this is what I'd say…"

Indeed, Huckabee is a prime example of why Republicans can't get traction with the very people who not only want to back them, but who are anxious to do so if only the Republicans would do more than provide lip service to principle.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Winner? The Bad Guys

  1. Let's hope he flops like Howard Dean.

  2. dox^2 says:

    Oh please, oh please…

  3. malaventura says:

    Well, Americans think that, besides the USMC, economical success, and baseball, the world admires them for their elites. Yeah, well, we got some pretty smart wackos ourselves back here. But what Europeans unanimously admire about the US are the rednecks. I mean, come on, America was founded by religious nuts with guns, men like Huckabee.He won my heart with the HuckChuckFacts-campaign.

  4. TedWest says:

    Who knew I'd offend Europe with my anti-Huckabee comments?
    Now you know that if you were to intervene on his behalf, I'd be compelled to hear your arguments. So before you do that, let me tell you mine.
    1) Ann Coulter hates him
    2) Rush Limbaugh doesn't like him, and I just learned that he devoted half his program yesterday to saying that.
    3) There's not going to be a President Huckabee, and there's a very simple reason for that. Check the names of our presidents. What do you see? Washington, Jefferson, Adams, Taft, Truman, Kennedy, Nixon, Carter, Clinton, Bush… do you see it? Or rather, do you not see it? There's not a Huck-alike in the bunch. It's almost like Liza with a Z.
    4) I should have been clearer (this already isn't my year) I got nothin' against hicks, and I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments, but Huck ain't a Jackson-style hick.
    Coincidentally, there was a program on about Andrew Jackson last night, and one of the early lines was that a lot of historians attributed a lot of negative qualities to him of the nature of "shoot first and ask questions later" variety. I turned to my wife and said, "No wonder I like him, he's my kind of guy."
    5) I wonder if you know what Huckabee has done in the Ark? Taxes, sentence commutations, in-state tuition proposal for illegals, but not for citizens of other states, and paternalistic ideas for diet and education to name a few.
    I like Ike, I hate Huck.
    Go ahead, change my mind.

  5. malaventura says:

    paternalistic ideas for dietAt least he lost 100 pounds prior to that.

  6. malaventura says:

    See, Ted, I believe that politics are one f*cked up business anyway. I want the best to be our leaders, yes, but while I can't have them, I prefer the worst. I mean, Ronald Reagan, you know!, who would have guessed that the 80ies would bring such a guy to power, yet under him government turned into excessive government, and the mullahs, well, he practically made the mullahs, didn't he?Talking about God: I am really looking forward to be seeing "No Country For Old Men".

  7. malaventura says:

    The Ann-argument ist indeed a strong one, of course. Still, his son knows how to treat dogs, and he ain't Welsh.

  8. malaventura says:

    Bad news spread with the wind. Good news walk by foot.We saw what looked like an IED so we got out of our Humvees all concerned. Then some kids jumped out and yelled Mister! Mister! Chocolate! Chocolate! When the kids start to play war, you know you won.Thanks to Lima Company, my daughter may spend her honeymoon in Falludja some day. Not that I'd approve of it, but she may. Me approving of her getting married, that is.

  9. TedWest says:

    Mal, I just don't want you to be disappointed. Because there's not going to be a President Huckabee.
    I decided to tune into Rush today after hearing about his comments yesterday, and the first caller compared Huckabee to Reagan. That upset Limbaugh who later played a Huck comment from the Tonight Show last night in which he decried the left-right labels and said he believes the American people want a president who's vertical – who will take us up, not right or left.
    About Fallujah, I wish you were here for the Time Man-O-the Year debate. I won't mention any names, but Jeff thinks that Putin deserved it and that it was correct to rank Petraeus below Rowlings, Gore, and the Red China guy..
    Of course, I don't mention this in an attempt to rekindle anything, I simply want to make it clear that to some people, Iraq is no big deal – a blip if you will that the world will little note nor long remember.

  10. Another intellegent comment by Ted!

  11. TedWest says:

    Wow… and a month earlier than last year's! Dare I think what has always been the unthinkable? Yes, damnit, two in '08?!?

  12. malaventura says:

    I am the worst election-predictor ever, it precisely never happens the way I said it would. Of course I always am personally very certain that I know the outcome precisely. That's how much I am not interested. The only possible political perspective on the world, and that means the nation, is a vertical one. Still, the chances of great statesman to be evolving from the right is unlikely higher than that of one evolving from the left, but God only knows.I don't like Huckabee. I like a nation where someone like Huckabee is possible.Iraq is at least as important as the Falklands were.I would unhesitatingly have voted for Petraeus.

  13. TedWest says:

    Yeah, and I like a nation where all the men wear lederhosen, so I envy you too.
    And about the Iraq-Falklands comparison, there's an oil for sheep joke in there somewhere, but I'm too lazy after just having to spend a half hour with a door-to-door salesman showing me how to get a rust stain off my driveway.
    But I hope we all get the chance to vote for Petraeus someday.

  14. malaventura says:

    Steyn was talking about the importance of the Falklands war and how it tought the lesson that the first world will fight back and therefore brought peace and stability. Fascinating thought.Yet, talk is sheep.

  15. TedWest says:

    Apparently the bad guys didn't get the message of the Falklands?
    And Clinton didn't resend it even after Bush1 reinforced it. Of course if he had, the second Bush would have done nothing at all, since Iraq is the only thing he's done sorta right. But only you and I might think that way, since we don't consider selling out Israel and pushing through independence for Kosovo to be quite right.

Leave a Reply

