Shortcake

It appears that Ann Coulter likes Duncan Hunter as much as I do. That, of course, means that Hunter is the best qualified, so why is he a virtual unknown? Needless to say, that says much more about Ann Coulter's ability to influence people than it does about mine.

Alan Greenspan, the guy who, almost single-handedly ruined the stock market in 2000 and subsequently ruined interest on your savings accounts, now feels a bailout of fools who bought into variable rate mortgages is in order. This raises a bit of nostalgia: remember those days when people retired from their careers in Washington and just died?

Joe Lieberman has endorsed John McCain. Interestingly, both men approximate their entire constituencies in their respective parties. I lost friends defending John McCain back when, and I'm not particularly thrilled that I'd have gained a friend in Lieberman had I remained a McCainiac.

I recently bragged that I'd finally mastered Windows 98. Then I bought a new Dell computer. I'm returning it. Dell's technical support staff, aka, India, has been very courteous and helpful on those (rough guess) several hundred occasions I've contacted them since the computer arrived last week. It''s Vista that is not ready for prime time, and unfortunately, it and the computer are inseparable. Turns out, hate and marriage don't go together like a horse and carriage.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shortcake

  1. Urban Lenny says:

    Quick question: How does an endorsement by Ann Counter mean "of course" that Hunter is the "best qualified"?

  2. TedWest says:

    See, this is what I was talking about in the last thread… if you can't understand that, you need to be elsewhere really soon.

  3. Urban Lenny says:

    hahahaaaaa! so you only talk to people you agree with? nice. not wanting
    to explain why you think the way you do to people who may not agree
    with you must make life much easier. see unlike you, i like to read other people's opinions and shit, and try to understand where they're coming from and why they think the way they do. I guess i could just call people i disagree with "right-wing militaristic moonbats" and be done with it, but that's what stupid people do.you got your mind all made up, dont you? nothing's gonna get through that old angry white head of yours that might potentially make you question the foundational beliefs that underlie your statements, right? everyone's a "loony"!
    seriously though– dismissing out of hand any statement or question you dont agree with is what children do. you're a middle aged man, yet you deal with others unlike yourself like a toddler. go figure.

  4. 1. I'm running XP, I buildt my own computer last year- see my blog on vox.
    2. Congressmen usually don't have enough clout or a large enough organization to win. Not that it means that Duncan Hunter isn't qualified, just harder to build an organization. Rah rah rah, can't wait until this election is over with.

  5. TedWest says:

    Zak, I completely agree about Hunter, that's why I'm answering you.
    Lenny,
    "I guess i could just call people i disagree with "right-wing militaristic moonbats" and be done with it, but that's what stupid people do."
    And I finally agree with you too, that -is- what stupid people do.
    Zak,
    I'll check that out, but only because I don't know whether or not I agree with your use of XP!?!

  6. XP works- I don't understand why Microsoft doesn't put out a new software release that is proven to work, then there is all the apps that users load onto thier computers which Microsoft has no control over. I bought XP before Vista debuted but today I would still buy XP. My only mistake was that I bought the 32 bit version rather then the 64 bit version – the 32 bit version limits the amount of RAM to 2 GIGS.

  7. TedWest says:

    My take is that Microsoft wanted to get a new product on the market merely because it needed to be seen as a tech leader, even though it's always been a tech follower.So they put out this mess, and now they are to invested to retreat.
    The worst thing I've found to date is that if you accidentally lose power, the operating system automatically returns to an earlier state, and rather than simply restoring a previous registry which might result in a few programs needing to be reinstalled, Vista literally erases files back to the time of the restored registry. So last night, I lost all the info on my clipboard program and my sticky notes program, as well as exe files, as well as some freeware programs that were in exe ratter than zip format.
    Vista also not only adds files besides a programs shortcut when you sent it to startup, and it will reinstate those files even if you delete them from startup.
    There's much more, but last might, I returned to my old computer, and found that Windows 98 was not only a real pleasure by comparison, but I felt the stress drain away as i realized I'd actually had a siege mentality with respect to Vista.
    Dell will -sell- me XP, but will not exchange Vista for it, so they get the computer back instead.

  8. BTW, I live in Arizona and have never voted for John "RINO" McCain. But then I don't vote for Democrats either.

  9. TedWest says:

    As long as we're going with BTWs, I've got two:
    1) I've never voted for McCain either. I've always thought of him as a crazy uncle, and as such, I excused his "eccentricities," I excused him being against the tax cut, and I excused McCain-Feingold because Bush is responsible for that, but his backing amnesty this year was it for me.
    2) Lenny said he deals in facts. Well, I see his facts and I raise him – I deal in truth. Many facts don't mean a damn thing, and in any event can be twisted – which is what Lenny tried to do, except that in his case, even his "facts" weren't true.

  10. Might just as well voted for DeConcini LOL I never gave McCain that much slack. My worst nightmare is to see Hillary and McCain on the general election ballot – I'm not sure that I could vote for McCain even then, at least the Libertarian will be on the ballot in Arizona.

  11. TedWest says:

    You reminded of a funny incident from 1993. I had just moved back to Arizona, and we went out to dinner with our liberal friends (they're gone now and I'd never have another one) one of whom brought up DeConcini, talking about him as if he was a decent person or something..
    I told her I was glad she did that before the food arrived and then asked if it was illegal to kill a Senator. She was absolutely horrified, and actually "shushed" me. And if there was any doubt about which of us was on the right side of things, she signed up with AOL..

  12. They named the new Federal Court House in Tucson after DeConcini- his father I think. The name will never die. LOL

Leave a Reply

