Warming, You Can’t Make It Up – Because They Do It Faster

Are you starting to get the idea that there are a bunch of frustrated sci-fi writers somewhere who do nothing but sit around speculating what '-might- happen in a warmer world? It seems that everyday brings at least one new scenario that results from people sitting aound a table and throwing out ideas. Then others flesh them out a bit to see if any have legs.

And the end result is always that even bad science fiction movies are better and more believable, so the media (slogan: give us your tired, your poor, your hungry ideas yearning to be free) then takes all the rejects and hypes them in print and video.

And today brings us news that:

"PARIS (AP) The number of people threatened by coastal flooding could more than triple by 2070 due to climate change while the financial impact could surge by tens of trillions of dollars, according to a prominent international organization."

Yep, it's possible. It's also possible that the number of people threatened could quintuple. And it could be by 2020 or 2170. Or it could even be that the report is accurate but that by 2071 through our own technology, all those people threatened will be reduced to zero almost overnight.

Never mind the facts, listen to Angel Gurria, secretary general of the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development who sounds like an imitation of the old Hans and Franz bit on Saturday Night Live, "Hear me now and beleive me later…"

He or she (does it matter?) wants "quick action to buy time for cities at risk."

Now this is the good part, at least for me… the article notes that a report says: "It can take 30 years to put defenses for vulnerable cities in place."

OK then, if we do take "quick action," what's "quick?" And what sort of "defenses" are we talking about? Because it sounds like I might want to invest in the sand industry?!?

Then we finally get to that part of every story of this sort in which speculation has become accepted fact:

"'Climate change is already happening and concerted action is needed now to prevent its worst impacts,' the organization quoted Gurria as saying."

That first part is actually true – climate change is "already" happeneing. It happens almost every single day, in fact. You don't suppose Angel meant that -catastrophic- climate change is already happening, do you?

Anyway, I'm sure we'll get a clarification soon since: "Gurria is scheduled to take part in the U.N. Climate Change conference in Bali, Indonesia."

Now are you all flying together, Angel, to spare us unnecessary CO2? Or at the very least, are all of you taking regularly schecduled commercial flights? If that's the case, could you please make your footprint as small as possible by lighting one less candle enroute?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Warming, You Can’t Make It Up – Because They Do It Faster

  1. I'm hoping that all the left-liberals become sterile.

  2. TedWest says:

    I'd be first to volunteer to do that job.

  3. I nearly choked on my beer. LOL But all those doomsday scenarios really bore me to tears. If you want a real story go get "Brave New World"- Aldous Huxley nailed it!

  4. TedWest says:

    You're a better audience than my wife, but then she's a Filipino who reminds me of a VIet Cong at times, so I make allowances.

  5. It's creepy how close to reality 'Brave New World" is- tt's supposed to be in the year 2150 LOL but present day in any western nation is too close for comfort. I started out reading None Dare Call It Treason and walked precincts for Barry Goldwater in 1964 (I was 12 years-old) I drove my left-liberal parents nuts. The world can be a damn farce!

  6. TedWest says:

    That's exactly the problem, isn't it? Life is absurd and meaningless, yet we're determined to make it mean something.

  7. Your actions give life meaning to you. You may even inspire others by your words and actions. Yes the world is simultaneously both beautiful and dangerous. The tragedy of the human condition is that many people expect human nature to change either by the use of force or by preaching. The truth is that you can only change yourself.

  8. TedWest says:

    I understand and agree, but I think we're talking on different planes. Life can be very meaningful for an individual while he's here.

Leave a Reply

