The Danger Of Consensus – Wrongful Termination

If you've been following the delightful chat I've been having with Erik about warmalarmists, there's something wrong with you. But that's your problem. Mine is that I can't even make up absurd stuff fast enough before it becomes reality.

Yesterday, I suggested we rid the Earth of animals to combat warming, and today, Greenpeace wants to begin with having people eat a lot more kangaroos – keeps down the roo population and the cattle population too, apparently. Two birds with one stone, so to speak.

And speaking of which, I mentioned a guy who was concerned about seeing too many birds during the winter and how this armchair ornithologist saw that as an ominous sign. Now wouldn't it be easier to shoot or poison the birds to ease his anxieties rather than impose new takes and restrictions on everyone?

I mean, every action has a reaction, so shouldn't some guy to the south be complaining that he's seeing less birds? Or is that reaction delayed because southerners are more laid back?

Look, it's so simple that I hope this will save Erik a lot of time if he decides to keep our discussion going: There's only about a fifty/fifty chance that any consensus is a good thing… or even correct, and we often don't find out for decades – that they were wrong, and until now, the worst that's happened is that a few million people in Africa have dies because we won't let them use DDT. Big deal, right?

Scientists are wrong A LOT, and when they are, it can be deadly. And frankly, Erik, like good liberals everywhere, just pases by inconvenient truths that don't conform to his mindset. And also just today, a judge has required that Al Puffy Gore's movie be shown with disclaimers if it is to be shown in English schools.

And the Nobel folks have added a new category: The Nobel Prize for Lying – sure it's a category in which no one wants to win, and sure, Gore is a shoe-in, but the good news is that he can avoid the award if he buys more carbon offsets.

I mentioned that there is no evidence that the Earth is warming, hoping Erik would take the bait. But that would require more effort on my part as well if he did. So let me explain by restating that there is NO EVIDENCE that global warming is occurring. There may be some evidence that the has warmed in some areas and  that it might even warm a little more, and so far, as Martha Stewart would say, "it's a good thing."

But warmalarmiists at least imply continuity. And if the Earth continues to warm, and that becomes a bad thing at some point, advancing technology will deal with it. Period, case closed.

That's how simple this all is, and I'm tired of dealing with the subject. It's a non-issue.

Global warming as we know it is a scam. The hype is designed to advance careers and increase power and control, and people who believe it's real and an imminent threat – are stupid.

And if you hold any other view than that, which is to say, mine, which I arrived at all on my own, thank you, so I know it's correct, then you need to become better informed and prove that you were higher ranked in your in your Catholic high school honors class than I was in mine..

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Danger Of Consensus – Wrongful Termination

  1. memtony says:

    "warmalarmist" is a great term. Did you make that one up yourself? Even if you didn't, I think we need to do all we can to inject the term into everyday convesation, especially in the commercial media.

  2. TedWest says:

    Tony,
    I'm constantly making up terms, and I believe I was the first to use this one which first took the form of "Gorebalarmists", but I knew that was too cutesy.
    I have to give partial credit to James Taranto who calls them "Warmists," and I melded that with mine because I felt his didn't convey urgency, and conversely, I believe he would think mine is elegant enough for his tastes.
    However, I wasn't striving for elegance, I was attempting to show subtle contempt as a front for the boundless contempt I actually feel for these aspiring Big Brothers.

  3. The Trainer says:

    Would an environmental science major in commercial media be considered a "warmalarmist"? While I think your blog is quite funny and found myself giggling at it, you are also wrong.
    Still funny, though.
    Yet, still wrong.

  4. TedWest says:

    Train,
    Thanks, I think you're quite funny too!
    But now.. wrong? You mean about everything? Or just about consensi?
    Anyway, I don't consider credentials to be important, probably because I don't have any. I only know that if one thinks warming is a serious and imminent threat to our existence, he… or she as the case may be… is a warmalarmist and thus should be neutralized.
    But I'm open to discussion… although afterwards, neutralizing will still be necessary.. Meanwhile, I remain…
    Ted
    Taking the heat about warming so you can save your energy.

  5. The Trainer says:

    OK, I will take the bait. (even with the threat of nuetralization, scary as that may be)
    1. You stated there is no evidence that global warming is occurring. Now would you say that was just recently or say over the last hundreds of years? If we look at geological history, the belief is that the globe has fluxuated both warming and cooling depending upon the time period in history. Would you say then that the consensus *grin* that there was an ice age is also incorrect? Or that the climate at one time in history did not change drastically enough to wipe out certain species? .
    Here is what I think, that global climate change is happening, BUT it's not new. Our recent innovations, and ability to measure the rate of change actually has just heightened our ability to precieve it. Global climate change IS happening (wether its warming or cooling) and has been for a very very very long time.
    The problem with the perception of global climate change is that most people right now assume that we are the ones causing it. We alone are the instigators, but it actually is not proven that humans are the cause of this. It is a theory.
    My theory is that it was happening before we were able to detect it with all of our new technology and that while, yes, certain things that we do impact our environment and some things we do may contribute, it was happening before we were mucking around new technologies that cause chemical reaction in our climates. To many, that is much much scarier than us causing it because it means we may have no control over it.
    The issue though is not so much with why it is warming as much as the effects that global climate change will have on us as humans. And sure, advanced technology will keep us alive, as you so eloquently stated, but the point is not if we will survive (despite propaganda), it's more about our standard of living in the future.
    2) OK on to the second part. First of all, you throw around scientists as if we are the ones who have this huge consesus on the human effects of global climate change- and that science has something to do with the nobel PEACE prize, yes…it was a peace prize. There are completely different prizes for the sciences. And as a side note, so that you don't think I have some crazy propaganda to sell you, the hole in the ozone actually shrunk last year according to a 2006 study – so there is not a consensus, and there never has been.
    Peace has rarely been based upon the scientific agenda.
    Ok so there are two things…but my nuetralization is looming over me now and I would like to stop writing. I'm sure you would like me to stop too…would that be a consensus? *grin*

  6. TedWest says:

    Holy cow, Train, I may have bitten off more than I could chew with my multiple warming threads here. Which reminds me, I apologize for those horrible things I said about you elsewhere, and if I might borrow a page from Greg Gutfeld…
    If intelligence were a banana, I'd peel you and eat you for breakfast… then slip on the skin and break my neck…
    You may have noticed that I have a tendency to write hyperbolically at times, and at the same time, I am prone to not defining my terms. I do that because I've found it often generates maximum hostility.
    But I feel badly when smart, perceptive people are misled by my intentional carelessness and forced to expend extra effort as a result.
    That said, I'm glad none of that applies to you, ha ha. But seriously, folk…
    When I talk about global warming, I am not referring to the normal fluctuations. I am talking about the runaway warming the alarmists are trying to foist on us. And I even admit it could happen, but it is very much less likely than some catastrophes that are currently wholly outside our control – asteroids, supervolcanoes, and even an unexpected or previously unheard of change in the sun itself.
    And with that, we are virtually in agreement in your Part 1, even if I don't know how you can reconcile your comment about my stating something eloquently with your previous statement that I was "still wrong?" Unless you were just messin' with me, in which case you have my complete admiration.
    Now, I haven't read your Part 2 yet, so I feel some trepidation that our mind-meld might still be disrupted. Still, I am nothing if not intrepid… which usually means I'm nothing, but I feel I owe you now…
    OK, wow, Part 2 was better than Part 1! And when you have some spare time, I'd like you to meet Dox.
    Anyway, I never did get into the incongruity of the Peace Prize vis-a-vis Gorebal warming, but the same Greg Gutfeld whom I mentioned above did mention the fact that a 90-something woman who aided Jews in Nazi Germany and who, herself, was tortured by the Nazis as a result was passed over in favor of Gore. Presumably, had she spent more time on combating warming back then, she'd have stood a better chance, but no one knows where the heart may lead…
    So in the end, after reading all you wrote, if I'm wrong… you're wrong too (yea!), because I'm hard pressed to find areas of major disagreement. And not only was I aware that the ozone hole had shrunk, it wasn't the only one that shrunk, but I don't want to get into my personal life.
    Finally, when I mentiond neutralization, you should know that I meant that in the nicest sense of the word. And besides, after what you've said here, even if the worst case scenario were to become a necessity, I'd still want to stuff and mount you put you on my mantle so I could have daily reminders of the great times we've had!?!

  7. The Trainer says:

    Oh Ted,
    Quote" I even admit it could happen, but it is very much less likely than some catastrophes that are currently wholly outside our control – asteroids, supervolcanoes, and even an unexpected or previously unheard of change in the sun itself."
    Honestly, it does happen more frequently than the above and is much more likely and mch more of a threat to you, me and any human alive. Seriously, astroids? supervolcanoes? That's just, well, not to be mean, ignorant.
    It's good to know you agree on so many points. I couln't have known that from your blog. However, I am not the type of girl to be stuffed or mounted. My boyfriend would never approve.
    Isn't it grand? A liberal and a conservative living in bliss.

  8. TedWest says:

    Train,
    Let me deal with your last comment first so we can put any unpleasantness behind us. I knew you were a liberal.
    Don't take this the wrong way, but only a liberal demonstrates her feeling of superiority to those she considers her equals by exhibiting an air of unjustifiable smugness
    But me, I take it with a grain of salt because unlike Limbaugh who brags that he takes on liberals with half his brain tied behind his back, I go him one better… I don't use my brain at all.
    Now for the meat of your comment, even if I don't eat it, do you…?
    "Honestly, it does happen more frequently than the above and is much more likely and mch more of a threat to you, me and any human alive."
    To quote an expert I know, "You're wrong," your major notwithstanding. Worse, you obviously don't watch the History Channel.
    Climate chaos isn't even a real possibility if you're referring to the man-made variety. Even if we're doing something, and that is an if as you will learn if you watch 20/20 tonight (I think), future technology Will make it all clean and new again. Why just this week, they, and by "they" I mean "somebody" announced a new CO2 filter that is 500 times more effective than current ones (which I didn't even know we had, so it's really infinitely more effective from my perspective).
    You see what I'm saying… Forget about the 500 times part, let me know when somebody even has an asteroid filter.
    "Seriously, astroids? supervolcanoes? That's just, well, not to be mean, ignorant."
    First, believe me, you're not mean. If you wanna see mean, watch what happens the next time Snowy checks in here… or that idiot chick who thought Clinton got a majority vote… or any Englishman.
    But seriously for me, you mean you're not aware of the dangers asteroids (or astroids as you know them) and supervolcanoes pose? And you call yourself a… hold on, what did you call yourself again…? Anyway, I'm sure you're just dismissing them in the same manner I dismiss warming…although, warming could actually be a good thing. Can you tell me what's good about another Krakatoa or a… um… Krakatoid?
    "I am not the type of girl to be stuffed or mounted. My boyfriend would never approve"
    Well, then I feel sorry for him, but not too much because he must have known what would happen with a feminist…?!?
    But now I do think this went pretty well overall, and I must admit to being pleased that you admit that couldn't tell my beliefs from reading my blog. Most liberals simply tell me what I believe and then tell me how wrong I am. That makes you very different. You did that without even knowing! Meanwhile, I remain,
    Ted
    At your disposal even though I hate plumbing

  9. The Trainer says:

    If I came off smug, my deepest apologies. Even my writing, like anyones can come across with an unintended voice. In this case it was smugness, most of the comments I was writing was meant to be funny. Again, I apologize if you took them as smug…and I can see how when I went to re-read what I had wrote.
    And you are right about the history channel. I, in fact do not even own tv, and have not for ten years. But then I was never one to let anyone tell me how to think either…
    OK and on with the discussion:
    I do not believe that they are more of a risk than global warming though ( the key word being more)…That is not to say I think that global warming is some tremendous threat…but it is MORE of a threat than the rest. That is what I believe….again….just my own theory.
    I am not a feminist, or actually a liberal at all. The liberal comment was meant to be a joke. But what I would like (this is not being said smugly) is that you please do not make sexual comments at my expense. It's something that bothers me….and if the stuffing and mounting comment was not stated with sexual undertones, then again, I apologise for my misconception.
    But I have enjoyed this conversation. Thank you .

  10. TedWest says:

    You don't know me, and so you couldn't possibly know how much I identify with and agree with your comments here, and I, too, apologize for any misunderstanding I may have generated.
    You will notice if you read my writings that I avoid crude expletives, and I feel there is virtually no place for them if one is writing in an attempt to influence others.
    With regard to sexual comments, I thought that it was clear I was referring to taxidermy? Although the one about your boyfriend was suggestive, and I only used it because it was convenient. In any case, you've not only taught me a lesson, but I admire you for your statement and I won't make that mistake again – with you or anyone.
    But from my perspective, I owe you an even bigger apology for misreading your attempts at joking, because I not only appreciate sincere attempts at humor, I want to encourage it as much as possible.
    I do feel though that your initial comment set the tone, and I let it influence me through your later comments, primarily because "wrong" and "ignorant" go together better than a horse and carriage.
    And I think that my reaction influenced yours in your latest reply in that I was trying to make my whole previous response light and airy while acknowledging the deadly serious (and our greatest) threat of liberalism.
    Once again, the more your write, the more we agree, and I think it's perfectly valid for you to think that warming is a more serious threat. It's not, but I can see how you'd feel that way if you don't own a TV! On the other hand, if you live in an area covered by Cox Cable, I envy you because there is no worse company on the planet.
    Btw, that's not because Cox had bad service, it's because they insist in employing ex-prostitutes and drug addicts as their on-camera sales personnel and then crank up the volume on these hideous beasts.
    Anyway, I thank you very much for your comments and your statement of principle, and I wish all young women were like you – although that would be more like Westworld, so I'll have to give this more thought, but I'm sure you get what I mean.
    And let me know if you don't know what Westworld is so I can clarify that as well.
    Thanks again to everyone who has made this a wonderful couple of days here, and especially to you, TT for raising the bar.
    I just wish it hadn't been under my chin at the time.
    Ted.
    PS: Did you at least like "Krakatoid?"

  11. The Trainer says:

    A vocanic asteroid? Yes…funny. Very funny. I did laugh at that. *grin*
    Oh…and I took your advice and met Dox…I responded to his last blog.
    I look forward to more conversations. Thanks for being a real person. There is nothing I admire more.

  12. TedWest says:

    What a team we make, I hadn't even considered a volcanic asteroid, I just figured a killer asteroid would have to be named something, and since it would probably crack the Earth in half, why not… well… you get the idea.
    But now a volcanic asteroid? Wouldn't you pay to see that? Or hesitate to do anything to stop it as the case may be since the collision would be just out of this world?
    Anyway…
    "I look forward to more conversations."
    OK, just as long as you realize that this may not be the best place for that?
    "Thanks for being a real person. There is nothing I admire more."
    Thanks back atcha, me too! So do you know where I can find one?
    And I hope we meet again in the not too distant future… you know… when all this global warming hysteria is behind us, and we can be really real?!?
    Warm regards,
    Ted

Leave a Reply

