No Presidents Here

I saw two headlines today. The first, Senator Brownback Quietly Courts Conservatives. The other: Huckabee, Michael Moore In War Of Words.

Neither headline would have ever been written had Brownback and Huckabee not been running for the Republican nomination, and this reminds me of something that happened more than a year ago in a now forgotten forum when some liberal in an anti-Bush rant mentioned Senator Brownback as a possible candidate he could accept.

I found that interesting because at that point, no conservative I knew had even thought of Brownback in connection with "President."

And they still aren't.

That's not to say that Brownback or Huckabee wouldn't make fine Presidents, it's just that, if for no other reason, those two names are never going to follow "President" for purely aesthetic reasons.

There is one guy that the far right wackos seem to be enamored of, however, and that's Ron Paul, Nut-TX. In every WorldNetDaily poll in which he's mentioned as a presidential selection, he wins.

Which at least explains why these people are fervently religious, because when I think of Paul as President, even I say, "Holy God!"

But now comes the bigger news of the day. And it made me wonder if I had entered an alternate universe while I slept – or if President Bush did.

Bush Admits Administration Leaked CIA Name

The article went on to say that  Bush "acknowledged publicly for the first time that someone in his administration perhaps leaked her name to the news media."

Now you'll note that's not a quote from the President, which is a relief, but it still causes me to wonder if the President hasn't now completely taken leave of his senses? And here I've been accusing him of all sorts of wrongdoing and mismanagement, when the real problem is simply that he's insane!?!

Back to the article: "Mr. Bush would not directly answer a question about whether he is disappointed in the White House officials who leaked Plame's name."

Remember when you used to think this guy was a direct, tough talkin' leader?

Peggy Noonan writes another great column about Bush today (find it yourself) in which she touches on the biggest problem I have with him – I can't look directly at him. I can't stand to hear his voice, and I wish him only bad things.

Is that so wrong?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No Presidents Here

  1. chef yarko says:

    Well I strongly support Dr. Paul, and I'm not a right wing nut. I support Ron Paul for the following reasons:he has a voting record that shows he stands by his principles.he upholds the authority of the constitution, and has only voted for laws that are

  2. TedWest says:

    Don't be all tryin' to dignify him with that doctor stuff. And I never said that his sole support was from right wing wackos, I'm sure he draws support from wackos of every persuasion.
    But I'd be willing to reconsider if you can point to any prominent rational individual who supports him?

  3. Good Grief. I would rather vote for Les Paul than Ron Paul. It would be guitar strings versus marionette strings. I have not bothered to check his voting record because I don't think he has a chance in hell. He could have voted along conservative lines, but I can't imagine him giving a State of the Union Speech. I thought we had a straight shooter with Bush, but even a blond can be wrong once a year. Hah! I mean, he was from Texas. A real cowboy because I saw his boots, jeans and his big belt buckle. I thought, its about time. He was just O.K. the first term, liked his first speech on the war on terror, sounded tough enough, but the 2nd term went in the toilet and so did his toughness.To follow Clinton and Bush with Paul would almost be as bad as a Clinton – Bush – Clinton succession. This would cause me to start drinking and not stopping for 4 years. Is it possible to stay drunk for 4 years?

  4. TedWest says:

    Is it possible? We'll know on the next season of American Idol!?!
    And Les Paul? I was drinking lemonade when I read that and nearly spit it on the screen.
    We all thought Bush was a tough straight-shooter, so we waited for him to finally confront all the crap – and he never did. And not the crap is in the majority.
    Although it was before the '06 election too…

  5. Schomer says:

    +1 about not being able to look at Bush or listen to him speak. It's painful.I cringe every time I hear him say "it's going to be hard work."Worst public relations president, ever, IMO. You can't be a non-public president anymore and think the public is going to stand by whatever you're doing in private. Sure, down the road, you'll be judged by your actions and the outcomes. But you've got to get out there and stroke the American people a bit, and make them feel like you have things handled and have them in mind. Clinton did a great job at this. (He also did a great job at taking credit for progress made by Republicans!) People still love that guy, and I think it's only because he was a good speaker.So that's the problem. We have a president who can't speak. In fact, when he speaks, he doesn't make us feel better. So, either way, he's screwed. Go quiet, and we all get concerned about what's going on. Start talking, same thing.He speech writers do a good job. You'd think, after all these years, that Bush would at least be able to regurgitate what he's read in past speeches.

  6. Ted:Hope your lemonade wasn't too sticky. hah! What is so ironic is while I was typing my comment, there was a commentary on Les Paul and his contribution to music and having a guitar named after him on the radio. I had never heard of him before. It just seemed to fit at the time. That's typing on the fly, I suppose. Glad it tickled you. I live for the days I can make you chuckle.

  7. TedWest says:

    I don't know much about Les Paul either, but I knew who he was.
    Which brings up one of the most important things about comedy – the more comedians know, the better chance they have of being funny – and the same goes for the audience. An educated audience is almost always more receptive.
    Which explains the sorry state of comedy today… it's not so much the comedians' fault as the audience's.
    I keep saying that I could win Jeopardy on the right day. That's because my knowledge is a mile wide and an inch deep. It enables me to make references to things I know hardly anything about. That's also why I respect and simultaneously don't get Dennis Miller…

Leave a Reply

