Malaysia – A Tourist… er… Mecca?

"Malaysia, Truly Asia"

See that? That's the slogan in the first ever ad I just saw for tourism in a certain Asian country.

And yes, this is Tourism Day in Tedville.

Anyway, I was thinking, what would our ad be in Malaysia if we borrowed their theme?

"America, truly America?"

And Mexico?

"Mexico, Truly America?"

Probably someday, but…

How about Canada?

"Canada… Not Truly America"?

Think about it.

Or do we need to add a "North"?

If that's the case, is there a "Truly North America"?

And is Mexico really part of it?

For that matter, is there a "truly Asia"? And do they think that their idea of "truly Asia" is the same one Arizonans have, if you get my drift?

Because maybe it's just me, but my concept of "truly Asian" doesn't have me itchin' to jump on a plane to suck better quality rice?!? I mean really, they want me to fly into tomorrow for that?

And how did they get that name, "Malaysia"? Doesn't that mean "Sick Asia"?

Anyway, I was so caught of in the slogan that I actually didn't see the ad, but I'm sure Malaysia is filled with natural wonders – such as peaceful Muslims.

I just don't know what the others may be, so I'm really looking forward to seeing this ad again and again… until I have truly nausea.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Malaysia – A Tourist… er… Mecca?

  1. Chad says:

    Great post, Ted! How about "North Vietnam, truly red"?

  2. d[-_-]b says:

    >Malaysia is filled with natural wonders – such as peaceful Muslims
    In the same way as America is filled with peaceful Americans???

  3. TedWest says:

    Good one! Comics have a term for what you did there – "truly Asian." You must be Malaysia's comedian?!?

  4. d[-_-]b says:

    irony is the word your scratcing for … a bit like all the google ads on this page now advertising flights to Malaysia

  5. TedWest says:

    "your scratcing for"
    Beats scratching for you're.
    OK, so at least we've established that you're not educated enough to be Malaysian.
    Which, I'm sure, is a relief to Malaysia.

  6. d[-_-]b says:

    hmmm, so you can type, spell (allegedly) & bitch, guess that must mean you're an office administrator
    Oh dear, NO FANS … don't give up the day job

  7. TedWest says:

    I'm sorry, had I realized upfront that you were just the latest ignorant limey straggler, I wouldn't have been so hard on you. You're right, as any newspaper will demonstrate, there' no need to type and spell properly to be taken seriously, and I commend you for devoting your every post to attempting to prove that here.
    Nevertheless, I offer you what I think is a fair deal: I won't give up the day job if you'll commit to night school?

Leave a Reply

