Where Have You Gone Soggy Muttonhead?

Because I'd really like to hear his take on this…

LONDON: Increasingly, Muslim women in Britain take their children to school and run errands covered head to toe in flowing black gowns that allow only a slit for their eyes.

Like little else, their appearance has unnerved Britons, testing the limits of tolerance in this stridently secular nation. Many veiled women say they are targets of abuse. At the same time, efforts are growing to place legal curbs on the full Muslim veil, known as the niqab.

——

Here's, I think, the essence of the article:

"Wearing the niqab means you will get a good grade and go to paradise," said Hodo Muse, 19, a Somali woman. "Every day people are giving me dirty looks for wearing it, but when you wear something for Allah you get a boost."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Have You Gone Soggy Muttonhead?

  1. It's not exactly part of the Muslim dress code, but if it's making people feel uncomfortable, they can change into simple headscarves.Islam denotes that one has to cover their hair, only showing their face, and their hands from their wrist, to the tip of their fingers. Other than that, everything else has to be covered.The method of covering these up is not stated anywhere, but most Islamic scholars state that the cloth should not be transparent, and the fashion should be loose, as to not accentuate the women's body.Basically, if it gives guys a hard-on by the way you dress, you're not wearing it right.However, certain schools in Islam (such as the Saudi based Wahabbism or Ras Al-Khaima's Salafism) insists on Muslim women covering themselves from head to toe.

  2. Ted, I have noticed you are going through your musical stage right now. Waltzing Matilda and now, Mrs. Robinson. I thought I would throw this one your way for solidarity sake, Congress is a One Trick Pony.As far as the niqab, (why omit the standard 'u'?), they just have to fight against cohesiveness, I guess. Well, I think the niqab is the perfect terrorists uniform. Look how many AK-47's you can hide inside the flowing fullness of black fabric. I bet I could get at least 50 hand-grenades inside one of those niqabs. Maybe, a rocker propelled launcher too. Plus, the big selling feature is the fact you cannot tell the gender by looking at the outside.I say, Beware of the Niqabs! Wanna bet someone tells me I am spelling ninja incorrectly?

  3. TedWest says:

    Not only that, Maddy, I promise to mentally undress anyone I see wearing one, so that negates that!
    And one of Muttonhead's main gripes was that I'm like a virgin with respect to Islam,. Well, with Aput around, I can get all the info I need, quicker and more succinctly.
    It reminds me of when Henry Ford was on trial and the lawyer was tying to paint his as ignorant. Ford said, "Why do I need to know those things when all I have to do is snap my fingers and I can have the information in minutes?"
    You see what I'm saying, right, Ford would have snapped Aput to death.
    But seriously, A-man, I appreciate the explanation, However, the subject is one of appropriateness, and to that end, and I can't believe I'm saying this, but I think that France's response is the way to go.

  4. After reading more about Muslims in France, I found it really interesting how the Muslim women have taken the government's stance and adapted to it. They simply trade in their niqabs for headscarves and wear long flowing dresses. The more conservative ones have adopted Dubai's fashionable robes with a zipper through the center, basically creating something more like a jacket.It is very interesting how most of us can adapt to the challenges facing our religion, whereas there are older, more conservative and reserved people who think the entire world should follow their stride.

  5. TedWest says:

    A-Man, it's hard not to like you. You're nothing if not resilient, and you're a good ambassador for your religion – damn good.

Leave a Reply

