Clearly, All Australians Are Not Alike

These are the ones I'd like to know better…

When Iranian Revolutionary Guards captured the British sailors and Royal Marines in March, it was not exactly their first attempt.

It turns out that Iranian forces made an earlier concerted attempt to seize a boarding party from the Royal Australian Navy.

The Australians, though, to quote one military source, "were having none of it".

The BBC has been told the Australians re-boarded the vessel they had just searched, aimed their machine guns at the approaching Iranians and warned them to back off, using what was said to be "highly colourful language".

The Iranians withdrew, and the Australians were reportedly lifted off the ship by one of their own helicopters.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Clearly, All Australians Are Not Alike

  1. Snowy says:

    So, why don't you volunteer your services if you feel so strongly? I understand recruitment levels are way, way down. Seems no-one wants to get killed any more.

  2. TedWest says:

    Listen, you ignorant pig, this is about brave Australians, not scum like you. And recruitment is not down one bit. Now stop shaming your country and get off my blog.

  3. Scio, Scio says:

    how unsurprising to learn this. All it takes is the slightest bit of backbone and there you go.

  4. HV says:

    Ted, What country is the whiteout from?

    Snowy, Do You support gay rights?

  5. TedWest says:

    HV,
    She's one of 'em, a ewe, man, from the land of sheep and shrimp.
    Both of which apply to her.
    Scio,
    After encountering the Aussie riffraff here, it was heartwarming to rad that.

  6. Okay, this time around I see Iran's military as a problem. A stupid and repetitive move.Next time that happens, and it's within Iraqi waters, take the Iranians prisoner.

  7. Snowy says:

    Well, yes, I do HV. You can rely on me to support your campaign….And let me guess, you are anti-abortion, pro-capital punishment, and in favour of the killing of 600,000+ men, women and children in Iraq?

  8. HV says:

    Well Snowy one out of three aint too bad I quess.

    Abortion: As a method of birth control I personally feel it is morally evil, but as a citizen of a free country I would not vote to ban it. I also support programs that try to help reduce the need for abortions; good comprehensive sex ed in our schools, relaxed adoption regulations, advances in medicine.

    Pro-Capital punishment: The one you got right.

    in favour of the killing of 600,000+ men, women and children in Iraq: Nowhere near that many people have died in Iraq, The amount of killing though is heavily weighted towards the Muslim extremists, and they have killed far far far more Iraqis than U.S. forces have.

    A final aside: My joke would have been much funnier if you were a guy…

  9. Snowy says:

    I'd agree with your first, but not the second or third. You seem like a rational person. Why are you hanging out here? I'm not sure what the relevance is, but last time I looked, I was a guy.

  10. HV says:

    You are correct, I am a rational person. If you find my stance on the other two line items irrational, maybe you should look within??????

    Ok, so my joke could be funny…

  11. TedWest says:

    HV,
    I regret to inform you that I am not willing to tolerate civil treatment of liberals here. It was all I could to to refrain from deleting a message with such an outrageous assertion that we were responsible for so many dead Iraqis, but that was less outrageous than the wild-eyed number itself.
    But I felt it out of deference to you, but with the full expectation that you would level her with a proper insult.
    However, in reading your response, I remembered that you aren't like me, which raises the question, why not? I mean, how can anyone show even a modicum of respect for anyone like Snowy who's so disrespectful of facts and reality?
    However, I must admit that in the end, it was all worth it to learn that Snowy apparently has at least some male organs. Otherwise, who could ever have guessed? Although, "Snowy" is so masculine that perhaps I was just prejudiced by the fact that he lives in a country of mostly whining sissies?

  12. HV says:

    Ted, I could never insult with the flair that you do, so I leave that skill to you.
    I enjoy feeding dimbulbs like snowy logic and reason, it makes their heads spin. While that is always fun to watch, when they try to respond, they usally say something stupid, giving you more ammo.
    Then again this is your blog, so to hell with the morons…

  13. Snowy says:

    Oh dear, HV. Just when I had such high hopes for you, too. O.K., I'm getting rather tired of this infantile name calling that passes for rational discussion here. So, I'll leave you to it. Be sure to tidy up the sandpit when you're finished. And wipe Ted's mouth occasionally, as he does tend to dribble…

  14. TedWest says:

    HV,
    As usual, you are an able spokesman for the sensible party. It's akin to "good cop – rabid cop," and you know how I love to froth.
    Related to this, I got a private message recently which I intend to address publicly, since it's clear that people do not yet seem to understand how this blog differs from what they're apparently used to.

Leave a Reply

