The Con Man In The Congregation

It's just my opinion- as it was three years ago that Bush was ruining a perfectly good war, and two years ago that Bush's conduct surrounding Katrina and its aftermath was disgraceful, and one year ago that Bush's failure to honor his pledge to protect this country and seal the border merited impeachment (at least) – but now it seems to me that the President is a very evil man.

We all know that Bill Clinton was all for Bill Clinton, but it's far less apparent how George Bush is all for George Bush. Yet there are too many things that indicate that he's far better at serving himself than even his predecessor was.

Also unlike Clinton, Bush's aims, reasons, and the masters he serves are not readily apparent. But a man who goes against his base either does so out of conviction or because he stands to gain more by doing so. And when that man goes against his base and attempts to portray them as un-American and bigoted at the same time, it seems to me, and again it's just an opinion, that his motivation doesn't lie in firm convictions.

So now we see that everyone feels free to bash their leader, but there are still two problems to reckon with. The first is simple – the base is shocked, disappointed, hurt, incredulous – but not enraged.

Bush has swindled his congregation, and even though there's criticism, I get the feeling that it's like one of those stories you see on a news magazine show where the swindled church members still don't believe it and want not only to give their brother the benefit of the doubt, but to somehow make it all go away.

The bigger problem is the one I noted so long ago, and what I held most against Bush at the time – that he's made so many of his liberal critics right. They weren't right, I said, but because of his inaction, carelessness and stupidity, those liberal critics had every right to believe they nailed in from the very beginning.

But now there's enough reason to doubt even that. No, not they they weren't right at all, but that they actually were. And that would mean that we were wrong. What if they DID see something we didn't. Sometimes the insane have strange insight, and this looks very much like one of those times.

And of course the bottom line would be that Bush is not a man of faith and conviction, but a very evil man. Lots of con men are like that – they actually look after some of the needs of their prey as they use them to their advantage at the same time.

If you've got a better argument, I sure want to hear it. If I'm wrong, I'll still be batting .750. I can live with that.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Con Man In The Congregation

  1. Sad, but true and I agree with you. It could be considered a personal fault, but I try to give people the benefit of the doubt in the beginning and only change my opinion when they do not live up to their word. I fear Bush has not lived up to his words, so I have changed my mind about his integrity, and his willingness to bash his supporters so easily is mind-blowing.At least Bill Clinton really didn't hide what he was. He denied everything with a wink and his fingers crossed behind his back, but we all saw it. Some cared and some didn't, but with Bush it is almost sinister. That scares me.

  2. TedWest says:

    Maddy, that comment was so good that I'm afraid you're not gonna have any friends left either.

Leave a Reply

