Why Were Republicans Doing Ms. NBC?

Last night the Republicans whose motto is, "Thank you sir, may I have another," showed up to debate on NBC's bitch. And while I'm sure they expected a debate, what they got was a night at the circus.

You may have heard that Democrats refused to appear at a debate that was to be sponsored by Fox News. I don't know how you feel about that, but it's just fine with me, there are already way too many liberals on that channel.

But years before this development, I was screaming about Republicans appearing on ANY of the liberal channels. Why are they continuing to do so? This alone is almost enough to cause me not to vote for them.

The liberal media needs them, I think, far more than they need the liberal media, and if all Republicans refused to appear and held out for better treatment and respect, it might even break the solidarity of the MSM. Right now rude and stupid liberal commentators can say the most outrageous things about the right and even the toughest (and I use that word with great hesitance) Republican will just smile and attempt to dismiss or deflect the comment, charge, insult, what have you.

Did you hear some of the questions Chris Matthews & Co, asked the Republican candidates last night? When they weren't shockingly juvenile, ridiculously simplistic, or clueless as to priorities, they were just flat-out insolent.

Why would anyone stand for a debate with Chris Matthews as the moderator, anyway? And the stunningly stupid Keith Olberman was the host! Don't the Republicans realize that showing up means legitimizing people whose audiences are usually statistically insignificant?

I waited to write this because I wanted to see numbers, and they're in. Ms. NBC's audience was about five times what it would normally be. And some of that increased viewership will consider tuning in again. Sure, I know most who do will eventually be put off, but that doesn't excuse the Republican assist the network got.

Now here's the thing though, if Fox had hosted the debate instead, they would have taken a ratings hit, because even with the huge increase for the peacocks, Fox still had better ratings for the time period. So I realize it's presumptuous to assume Fox even wanted the candidates.

And don't get me wrong, I'm not a Fox fan. I think any right leanings are a marketing decision. I also know that sticking to Fox might have some negative repercussions for Republicans and that Republican candidates are perfectly capable of dealing with any idiotic thing a liberal… make that a liberal wacko… like Matthews can throw at them, but then appearing on CNN is far more preferable than on the featherweight network.

To me, this does nothing to counter the image that Republicans are wimps.

And how about that question some dirtbag asked: "What do you dislike most about America?" Romney answered it tactfully enough, saying that he loved America and that he was at a loss for words, but I would have answered far more directly:

What I dislike most about America is that is allows fools like you to feel comfortable asking questions like that.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Were Republicans Doing Ms. NBC?

  1. * Applause * Love your closing statement. I heard several radio commentators say that it showed the Republicans had courage, while the Dems were afraid of Fox. So, I guess that is one way to spin it. Since it happened, I would agree with that statement, but I wish it had not happened because like you said, it gives MSNBC credibility it does not deserve. And, Chris Matthews is a lunkhead. And, Keith Overbite is a loser.

  2. TedWest says:

    It does take courage for Dems to appear on Fox because they have no answers to real questions, which is exactly why they aren't going on Fox – they have no courage and they know they will look like fools… well, even bigger fools, that is.
    But any Republican can answer any question posed by any liberal because even their questions are irrational. Examples are those few who have posted here. Their questions are so absurd that they don't deserve to be dignified with repies, only insults – which is what the Republican candidates should have said over and over to Matthews as long as they weren't willing to just insult him.
    And that was very kind of you to say that about Olberman.

Leave a Reply

