Drudge Does Sharpton Re: Simon

May God damn Matt Drudge.

I can say that easily because I don't believe there is a God to do it, but Drudge sure deserves damnation because he's trying to manufacture an issue the same way Al Sharpton did with Don Imus' comments.

Last night, Mr. Drudgton solicited video of Simon Cowell rolling his eyes when Chris the Whiner made reference to the tragedy at Virginia Tech. It made me see red because I knew exactly what this traffic whore, Drudge, was doing.

I wrote him saying that I had the video, and that in no way was Mr. Cowell intending to show any disrespect for the victims – that he was actually expressing dismay that Chris had the audacity to attempt to deflect Simon's criticism and gain sympathy for himself by changing the subject to this horrific event.

It was Chris who was despicable, not Simon.

He had just sung a song so badly that he made Sanjaya look good by comparison, and Simon was nailing him on it. Cocky Chris then had the effrontery to "advise" that his disgusting nasally sound was a singing style, and as Simon was in the midst of deriding him, he abruptly interjected his sympathies for the Tech victims.

Before Simon even got to his criticisms, I'd been screaming at the TV. That started midway through Chris' "song," and by the time he'd finished, I was demanding that something fall from the ceiling and behead him. He's such an unctuous little weasel, and whatever he sang last night brought it all into clear focus well before he put his nasal-toned cherry atop it all with his contemptible play for sympathy.

As for Drudge, he is what he is, and whatever it is, it's well below Chris.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drudge Does Sharpton Re: Simon

  1. memtony says:

    I think you're right. I don't know which is more shameful, Chris's actions, or Drudge trying to exploit the exploiter. Everyone needs to just quit talking about Virginia Tech unless they are in a position to actually provide real help or comfort for victims and their families.
    And yes, Chris's performance was pretty poor. Maybe he bought himself a ticket home tonight.

  2. Drudge sounds like a sick opportunist.

  3. I had not heard that before now. I've been studying for finals so I listened to Idol but did not really watch. I like Simon's criticism and think he are right on most of the time. Paula is too much to take, glad it is only small doses, and Randy is a little annoying too. I think Chris is pretty much a non-singer. I like Jordan and Phil best. I have to admit I think this has been the worst season of Idol. The few people who can sing, do not show any showmanship whatsoever.They have no stage presence or the magical 'it', like Kelly or Carrie or even Clay.I tried to listen to the Drudge radio show but couldn't take it. It was mostly his style and presentation that I found to be a turn off. I don't even remember the content.

  4. TedWest says:

    Well, I figured the attept to manufacture an issue about Simon would fail, but it's the attempt that bothered me.
    And I really agree with you about the lack of stage presence, but I always judge by closing my eyes and asking if I'd like to hear that song again
    And so to me, Melinda and Jordin are always "re-listenable." And I was absolutely awestruck by Jordin last night. Also, I had just seen the movie Ladykillers with Tom Hanks, and Melinda sang as if she was on the sountrack of that movie.
    I just saw an unofficial ranking of today's vote that I mostly agree with except I'd move Melinda up to second…
    Jordin Sparks 25.23 1.671
    Phil Stacey 21.58 1.734
    Lakisha Jones 20.65 1.773
    Blake Lewis 20.54 1.723
    Melinda Doolittle 20.11 1.72
    Chris Richardson 18.1 1.765
    Incidentally, Time reviews the performances every week. I think they do a pretty good job of it.
    My wife absolutely loves Clay, btw.

Leave a Reply

