Imus-n-Me, Ho Ho Ho

So Ms. NBC canceled Imus because a lotta white people is scum.

Here's the trail:

Imus made some stupid and insensitive comments.

Then the race baiters like Sharpton and Jackson went to work

Then companies started to cancel advertising

Then Imus started decrying the hypocrisy

And voila, canceled.

Now I'm never going to buy something from Staples or a product made by Proctor & Gamble ever again. I'd never buy anything from GM either, except that policy has been in effect since I've been an adult simply because they're crap.

But the real problem is that white people determine what happens in this country, and they are responsible for all the stifling of expression and all the PC garbage that's become mainstream. Does anybody disagree that political correctness is an enormously bigger threat than Don Imus?

Now by singling out white people, I'm not advocating any form of discrimination. But using the Imus case as an example, the furor is not driven by black people, just as the illegal immigration issue is not driven by Hispanics. When the screaming and whining started over Imus, it was up to rational, freedom-loving people of all colors to assess it and characterize it for what it was (juvenile and very inappropriate comments about some decent and undeserving young women).

I don't know if a two week suspension was proper, but I do know that it should have been the maximum levied. The fact that it now wasn't is owing to white guilt or stupidity and our inability to recognize proportion and distinguish levels of right and wrong, not to mention that many lack a sense of humor and a sense of forgiveness and also have sticks up their behinds.

I'm not arguing that black people shouldn't have their say, I'm saying that rational heads should prevail: realize the nature and context of the remarks, provide a measured response, and let that be the end of it.

Then when the likes of Reverend Al continue to bellow, they should either be ignored or better yet, told to stick a sock in it.

Instead, what I've witnessed is so many white people expressing their "righteous" anger, their outrage, and describing the comments as if Imus' actions were and have been for a long time the equivalent of Ahmadinejad calling for the annihilation of the Jews.

Tonight, a white Denver news ho labeled O'Reilly a racist for his use of the term "illegal alien." If you don't believe me, catch the replay. And comments I've made in forums have labeled racist on several occasions. I dare say, when that happens, white support evaporates. They cry, you fly.

Well, call me what you want, I'm still going to say what needs to be said. Of course, unlike Imus, I have nothing to lose. And if you've been following along here, you've seen one weasel already threaten to try to shut me up. Because that's what weasels do. Of course, other weasels fail to lend support for causes they know to be right. But every time they don't, they make it easier for them. You know, "those people."

I have a comedy routine in which I'm outraged by the terms, "African-American" and "Native American," because they are discriminatory and elitist (take my word for it). Not everyone thinks it's funny – just as with all comedy. But in this case, I'm not funny and I'm racist according to some, because I say some things that might be incorrect or unfounded they think, and which are doubtless abhorrent to the Matthew25s and Jonathan Wards of the world who aren't just disgusted, they want to get you for it.. One joke, if I do say so myself, is ingenious, and I know Chris Rock could get away with it, but I supposedly can't – in polite white society, anyway.

By this time you realize that Imus and I have a lot in common. We hate weasels. We also have a lot not in common. That's life. Then there's the stuff I don't know if we have in common: do you think he hates white weasels more than regular weasels?

Is that racist?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Imus-n-Me, Ho Ho Ho

  1. Scio, Scio says:

    Most people I talk to (libs and cons and mods) think this whole thing
    with Imus is pretty stupid. Sharpton's a joke and should go back
    to wearing track suits.

  2. Man Oh Man… I guess I need to start wearing tape over my mouth because I cannot keep up with all the politically correct language, and I do not want Al Sharpton or Jesse Jackson coming anywhere near me, I might catch a dose of racism from them.Next time some weasel comes after you, call out the Posse. I would like to ride for justice and the American way. Just wish I looked like Wonder Woman, but I am blond.

  3. True, Chris Rock gets away with more racist crap, but he's racist against his own race. It's like in some sick way, you can only criticize your own. But then it's the rights of the companies to pull out their ads, just like Ann's column being dropped by many newspapers.

  4. TedWest says:

    Believe me, I fully recognize their rights, that's why I'll exercise mine – because advertisers don't have the last say, WE do.
    One Rutgers team member reportedly said she feels she'll be scarred for life. If true, it's time to kill herself.
    And this is a good opportunity to say that I've really come to like and respect the people who've posted here regularly, and I thought I'd better say that now because you never know…
    And hey Blondie, I don't care what color your nap is, you're aces with me.

  5. One Rutgers team member reportedly said she feels she'll be scarred for life. If true, it's time to kill herself.Oh hell, as if the world didn't have enough drama queens already….

Leave a Reply

