Mary Old England The New France? – A Very Good Friday Quote

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mary Old England The New France? – A Very Good Friday Quote

  1. Scio, Scio says:

    nice title!

    I heard the commander of the boat on NPR talking about how the Iranians
    came packing heat and he had only a split second to make a decision
    about whether to resist. His rationale was that if he hadn't
    surrendered then some of the people with him might have died. I
    had little sympathy. These Brits had every right to start
    shooting and instead they've embarassed the entire West. Iran got
    exactly what they wanted, which was a demonstration that they can
    illegally capture Western troops and their home countries will bend
    over backwards to avoid taking any sort of action against them!

    I wonder, if we were to capture 15 Iranians and hold them, would we see
    an attack from their quarter? Since they are already in Iraq I
    guess it's a moot point.

  2. TedWest says:

    I saw one of the ex-captives say the same thing – that had they opened fire, "many of us might not be here today." My jaw dropped. I mean, no one should die needlessly, but I think when the alternative is being taken captive, you have to fight unless you're hopelessly outnumbered and out-gunned. Because then someone said that they thought the Iranians were going to kill them. So apparently it was better to die helplessly than to die for a cause.
    I've seen some fools try to put a good spin on this and even say that the Iranians lost because they knew they'd pushed it as far as they could. And it's those very fools who are going to get us all killed one day.
    And as bad as the situation was, seeing the people involved was even more discouraging. Let's put it this way: their conduct perfectly matched the way they looked.

  3. Scio, Scio says:

    If you'd like to feel even more discouraged, read America Alone by Mark Steyn. the first chapter alone launched me into depression.

  4. TedWest says:

    I think it used to be the general impression that the British were more advanced than we were educationally, that they were more sophisticated,, etc. I mean, you put a Limey in an infomercial and sell more stuff to American fools.
    But then the Internet came along and dispelled the myth. In my experience, the British are mainly idiots, PC conformists, and they display their idiocy in a lavish presentations of poor spelling and grammar with the cherry on top being their superfluous use of "u"s where none are necessary. And what's with "aluminium," anyway?
    And regarding Mark Steyn, thank God he rose to prominence when he did because he had huge shoes to fill with the loss of Michael Kelly, and he's filled them exceptionally well.
    My best memory of something regarding Steyn is of an exchange I had with a Dutch guy about Steyn having said that Dutchland was being overrun by Muslims. This was in 2003 after the Invasion of Iraq and well before the Van Gogh assassination.
    My Hollandish friend swore that Steyn had no idea what he was talking about… and I bet he still thinks that today.
    I haven't read any of Mark Steyn's book, but he'd always been upbeat about America until the last election. To my knowledge, he still hasn't been able to bring himself to criticize Bush, but why should he when the President is the best leader America has?
    In other words, America may not be alone for long.

  5. Harsh, but mostly true.

Leave a Reply

