My Beef With Dennis Prager – No Beef

This is really difficult for me. No, I don't mean the subject upon which I'm about to discuss, it's being serious for such an extended period as I have been today.

Nevertheless, Dennis Prager's column demands, and so I rise to the occasion.

Mr. Prager told the story of "a friend" who had attended his son's (the friend's) baseball game which found the boy and the proud father on the side that was leading 24-7 in the last inning.

That's when everything went horribly wrong – for the father, the son, and Dennis Prager.

Suddenly, the scoreboard showed 0-0, and it was no mistake. It was done so the losers, scum that they were, wouldn't feel shame and humiliation (I agree with this by the way, in the olden days, they'd have kept their honor and just been slain).

Prager decried and decried and decried – the loss of truth, the erroneous belief that the incompetents were somehow helped by the new score, the idea that someone would always be there to bail them out, that feelings are more important than objectivity, and that they are not responsible for bad results. In short, they they were taught to behave like women.

But that's not the worst of it, and it's why I wrote Mr. Prager (I should be getting a clarification shortly). I asked not about something he said, but about something he omitted – the rest of the story…

You know, how his friend made a scene by screaming bloody murder. How he demanded they restore the correct score and how many other parents joined him in his demand and then ran the liberal scorekeepers out of the stadium on bats, preferably cracked ones.

I'm glad Denny's friend displayed some courage, and I want to hear all the juicy details. I'm sure they were left out owing to space limitations, and not because Denny is out in it  Too many people fail to stand up for what's right, and so liberals and other morons extend and perpetuate bad policy as a result. Finally, a guy had the courage to stand up for principle and the good of society, and I not only applaud him, I'd love to personally thank him.

Oh, and doesn't this seem like a perfect subject for Social Justice? Not to mention, Little League rules now allow this?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Beef With Dennis Prager – No Beef

  1. memtony says:

    I would think that true baseball lovers would be the most outraged by this story. If baseball goes the way of liberal politics it's probably time to simply choose another way to spend your time.

  2. TedWest says:

    You know, baseball was an important part of my life as a kid, and your observation was in the back of my mind as I wrote the story. To me, it's one of America's purest symbols, ranking just below such things as the flag, the constitution, and the Declaration of Independence.
    It seems to me that no kid on either team will be pleased with this when looking back on it as an adult. But it's the failure of current adults to combat such things that makes it more difficult for future ones. Prager's friend should have been all about the shame he felt for not speaking up.
    Still no word from Denny, btw.

Leave a Reply

