The Bad Shepard

I used to like Shepard Smith. It started when I heard that amidst all the confusion in Tallahassee surrounding the 2000 election, Some Ms. NBS news whore tried to save a parking space for her comrade – by standing in it. Only Shepard got there first, and he was apparently willing to ever so gently run over the alleged woman in order to minimize his automobile's environmental pollution, not to mention airwaves pollution, if you get my drift.

But about an hour ago, it was I who felt the victim of a Shep hit and run as he came on air and in grave tones, proclaimed global warming to a very serious and that it was fact it was caused by man.

I thought at first it was a joke, but as he droned on, it was clear he was serious, and this from a guy who sounds like and looks as if he smokes two packs an hour. I was thinking that, at minimum, a Shepard pie was appropriate.

And I was reminded of the warnings I've given over the years that conservatives should not think that Fox is their friend – that any perceived rightward lean was merely a marketing decision. To my mind, there are only two confirmed conservatives on the network, Hannity and Hume (Now that would be a show, wouldn't it?), and that surprisingly liberal comments come from seemingly unlikely people – "Cavutoe," Fucson (not to be confused with Tucson), but not O'Reilly, though I admit bias toward the latter since I loathe him.

You may not know there's a new late night show on Fox called Red Eye. I became aware of in when the host appeared on the show who's name dwarfs the actual program – The Big Story. I don't know the guy's name or how he ever got the gig because he's neither a pretty boy nor a brilliant personality, but he did talk what sounded like a rather tough conservative line in the few moments I saw him, and that persuaded me to tune in to his show.

While it's certainly better than anything on Ms. NBC, I was immediately put off by the effusive (even gushing in one instance) friendliness toward liberals, and worse, they entertaining of their ideas and statements as valid. I mean, I would never knowingly be sivil (hat tip to John) to a liberal, much less treat their ideas with respect. The mere fact that an idea came from a liberal negates it, as I'm sure you'd agree.

And they feel the same, it appears: I'm the victim of an injustice at Social Justice.

That;s right. I was sitting around, minding my own business, when I got an invitation to join the group. Even if the name didn't give them away, the description did, but I'm nothing if not a reasonable liberal-hater, so I waited until I had a topic that I felt came under their purview "… The Great Ann Coulter," I believed, and I joined.

Coincidentally, that's when liberaloons started to overrun this place, and I didn't mind, but I do feel that when you're in someone else's home, you play by their rules.

And I really only have one: be rational.

And unfortunately, you can't order someone to do that.

So I admit that I launched a stupidity stamp-out that was less than sivil.

And without a word, I found myself unwelcome in Social Justice. I have no idea if the coward responsible for the dis invitation is the same person who invited me.

Now if you're a member of that group, I wouldn't presume to ask you to drop out in protest, much less defend me… I'm just saying that were I in your shoes, I'd do both.

Maybe we could form a new group: Anti-Social Justice?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bad Shepard

  1. Schomer says:

    That's too bad. I guess posts about cows on the moon, movie reviews, and questions such as "Is Britney on crack?" are what they are looking for. They look like a bunch of crazies in that group. I think we should just let them be. They are unable to respond to rational thought. They just want to find other crazy people to help support their craziness.

  2. Scio, Scio says:

    I just joined that group since I'm Catholic…but I saw a few posts
    there that made me reconsider whether I should contribute.
    Haven't been given the boot yet, wouldn't expect it…but I haven't yet
    sent a bigoted rant against homosexual marriage their way.

    I have defended Bill Donohue though…that old bastard. I like him alot.

  3. TedWest says:

    I just want you guys to know that I wasn't really calling for anyone to take action on my behalf, As with a lot of things I do, layiing a guilt trip on anyone willing to accept it was my aim.
    Thanks for the comments. I like Bill, myself. Catholics forever!

  4. Scio, Scio says:

    flimshaw, I need only a slight pretext to launch into an ill-planned assault on the most hot button of issues.

Leave a Reply

