No Liebermans Need Apply

When Democrats were trying to choose something to run for President in the '04 election, someone in the pseudo-conservative forum in which I was participating asked which if any of the possibilities a conservative could support. Naturally, the only one was Joe Lieberman, and some even expressed very positive sentiments about him.

That, of course made me sick because Ole Joe's nothing more than a principled dirtbag in a party full of unprincipled ones if you ask me, and I told his forum admirers just that. I came to feel that way when Lieberman took to the floor of the Senate to excoriate President Clinton for The Big Lewinsky, and then concluded his remarks without calling for Clinton's resignation. He did something similar when he demanded that Hollywood clean up its act, but then when chosen by Gore, the pursuit of Vice became more important than the policing of smut.

So it wouldn't surprise me if the news yesterday that Lieberman might think about considering weighing the possibility of maybe switching parties had some of those conservatives salivating. That's as opposed to their normal frothing, by the way.

As Joe put it, ""I have no desire to change parties. If that ever happens, it is because I feel the majority of Democrats have gone in a direction that I don't feel comfortable with."

That's Entertainment!

Apparently Lieberman did feel comfortable with that direction when, after the Connecticut primary last year, he became known to his party as Joe Who? And he was still comfortable when he won re-election despite the bad-mouthing he received, and despite his friend and fellow Senator Chris Dodd (D-Con) having supported Ned Who.

That was the time to switch. Now it would look if he's just using Republicans to try to win a war.

But I have no doubt Republicans would be thrilled to have him, since it would give them back control of the Senate – and show them to be just as unprincipled as the Democrats. But secretly, we already knew that, didn't we? I mean, they're scum, but they're our scum, right? Besides, Lieberman is probably better than at least one prominent Republican from every State.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Liebermans Need Apply

Leave a Reply

